• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Pandya Gill Out Parag Mayank Yadav In Ambati Rayudu Picks His 15 Man T20 World Cup Squad

Pandya, Gill OUT; Parag, Mayank Yadav IN: Ambati Rayudu Picks His 15-Man T20 World Cup Squad

Rayudu has picked his 15 members for T20 WC 2024 (x.com)Rayudu has picked his 15 members for T20 WC 2024 (x.com)

The Indian team selection for the T20 World Cup 2024 is just around the corner and anticipation regarding the squad has started creeping in amongst the fans and experts from all around the world. Similarly, the ex-India batter, Ambati Rayudu has picked his 15 men, who he thinks should board that flight to the United States of America.

Rayudu made some huge calls as he named his team. The team included only one all-rounder in Ravindra Jadeja while he snubbed Hardik Pandya, who could well be the first name on most of the people's list.

The other big calls in his squad were to include Riyan Parag and Mayank Yadav, who are yet to make their international debut.

The former CSK batter also picked his India U-19 batchmate from 2004, Dinesh Karthik to be the only wicketkeeper in the squad over the likes of Jitesh Sharma, Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan.

The other notable absentees in the mentioned squad are Shubman Gill, Axar Patel and Ravi Bishnoi. However, the ex-Hyderabad cricketer feels that Yuzvendra Chahal should make the cut for his good IPL performances.

Here's the full squad picked by Ambati Rayudu:

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Riyan Parag, Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mayank Yadav.

However, most of the squad picks themselves, it will be interesting to see how Ajit Agarkar and co. approach the selections with youngsters, Mayank Yadav and Riyan Parag who have impressed big time in this IPL and veterans Dinesh Karthik and Yuzvendra Chahal who have also showed that they have still got it.

The T20 World Cup is set to begin on June 2 in USA and India kick starts their campaign on the 5th against Ireland. The expected date of preliminary squad announcement is reported as April 28 or 29, while the squads can still be revised till May 25 according to requirements.