• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Maharaja T20 League 2022 Nikin Jose Shines As Mangalore United Thump Shivamogga Strikers By 8 Wickets

Nikin Jose shines as Mangalore United thump Shivamogga Strikers by 8 wickets

image-l6nx9pyyNikin Jose led the way with a classy knock

Brilliant knocks from Nikin Jose (85* off 56), Amit Verma (41* off 28) and three-wicket-hauls from Vijaykumar Vyashak (3/21 in 4) & M Venkatesh (3/24 in 4) helped Mangalore United (MU) seal an eight-wicket win at the expense of Shivamogga Strikers on Wednesday, August 10.

Mangalore flexed their muscles in this game as they completely outclassed their opponents in all departments of the game to claim a hat-trick of wins in the ongoing Maharaja Trophy T20 KSCA Cricket.

Batting first, the Strikers rode on a 49-ball 64 from opener Rohan Kadam, who stood tall at one end even as M Venkatesh kept dismissing his partners.

He was well supported by Stallin Hoover, who scored a 16-ball 25 with the help of 1 four and two sixes.

But, once HS Sharath dismissed Kadam, M Venkatesh and especially Vyashak, returned to wipe out the lower-order and restrict Shivamogga to 155/8 in 20 overs. 

Jose spearheads United's run-chase

Defending 156, the Strikers got off to a perfect start as right-arm seamer Hoover (1/10 in 2 overs) removed United skipper Ravikumar Samarth on the 7th delivery of the innings.

However, their joy was short-lived as opener Macneil Noronha (27 off 19) and Nikin Jose took charge of the situation with a 58-run stand.

The partnership was eventually broken by seamer Rajvir Wadhwa when Macneil edged a wide delivery to the keeper.

But, Jose, along with Amit Verma, ensured that Mangalore United romped home with 2 overs to spare as they launched a stunning assault, which saw them hammer 97 runs in just under 10 overs.

Jose smashed 5 fours and 4 sixes during his unbeaten knock while Verma stroked 2 and 3 respectively to hammer the final nail in their opponents coffin.

Brief Scores:

Shivamogga Strikers - 155/8 (20)
Rohan Kadam 64 (49), Stallin Hoover 25 (16);
Vijaykumar Vyashak 3/21 (4) & M Venkatesh 3/24 (4)

Mangalore United - 158/2 (18)
Nikin Jose 85* (56), Amit Verma 41* (28);
Stallin Hoover 1-10 (2), Rajvir Wadhwa 1-28 (3)

Mangalore United won by eight wickets