• Home
  • More News
  • Kohli Rohit Shami Bumrah In Heres Icc World Cup Team Of The Tournament
Ritam ∙ Updated: Nov 20 2023, 1:03 PM | 3 Min Read

Kohli, Rohit, Shami, Bumrah In; Here’s ICC World Cup Team Of The Tournament

image-lp6k7fwzIndian players (AP Photos)

As many as six Indian players made the cut in the International Cricket Council's (ICC) World Cup 2023’s Team Of The Tournament. They were Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, KL Rahul, and Mohammed Shami.

Quinton de Kock, who had a scintillating campaign in his final ODI World Cup, having scored four hundred, has been picked as Rohit’s partner. The Indian captain has also been named as the side's leader.

Kohli, as expected, the player of the tournament, will bat at No. 3, with emerging sensation Rachin Ravindra missing out, potentially because the ICC decided to pick players based on their preferred positions.

The middle-order superstar from New Zealand, Daryl Mitchell, who made a valiant innings against India in the semi-final, will bat at number four. KL Rahul will bat next, but not keep the wickets with big gloves.

Glenn Maxwell, Australia’s hard-hitting all-rounder will come after Rahul, becoming the first Australian in the playing XI to enter. Maxwell has been followed by Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah, who both had pretty impressive campaigns throughout the season.

Sri Lanka’s left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka, who finished third on the wicket-takers chart with 21 scalps, has deservedly got a place. Adam Zampa, the side’s only designated spinner, is their No. 10, whereas Mohammed Shami, the highest wicket-taker in the competition, finishes the lineup.

Here's ICC Team of the tournament for the World Cup 2023

1Quinton de KockWicket-keeper
2Rohit SharmaBatsman & Captain
3Virat KohliBatsman
4Daryl MitchellAll-rounder
5KL RahulBatsman
6Glenn MaxwellAll-rounder
7Ravindra JadejaAll-rounder
8Jasprit BumrahBowler
9Dilshan MadushankaBowler
10Adam ZampaBowler
11Mohammed ShamiBowler

It is also important to note that South Africa's aggressive fast bowler Gerald Coetzee has been named as the 12th man of the team.