Arjun Bhalla ∙ Updated: May 16 2023, 4:04 PM | 2 Min Read

Jofra Archer Ruled Out of English Summer; England Announce Squad for IRE Test

image-lhq2shdmBairstow has returned to ENG's Test squad after his freak golf injury (Twitter)

In a major breaking news, England's premier fast-bowler Jofra Archer has been ruled out of the entire English Summer, meaning he won't take part in the one-off Test match against Ireland at the Lord's and the much-awaited Ashes 2023, after his injury relapsed during his time with Mumbai Indians in the Indian Premier League 2023.

The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) - in a press release - stated that Archer is under the England and Sussex medical teams, who will monitor the 28-year-old's injury.

"Sussex fast bowler Jofra Archer has been ruled out for the rest of the summer after recent scans revealed he has sustained a recurrence of a stress fracture to his right elbow. He will now spend time with the England and Sussex medical teams, who will work on his injury management," the press release stated.

ECB's Managing Director for England Men's Cricket Rob Key also commented on the premier fast-bowler's unfortunate injury, wishing him a speedy recovery, saying he will make a comeback 'sooner rather than later'.

"I’m sure we will see Jofra back to his best and winning games for England, whatever the format. Hopefully, sooner rather than later. I would like to wish the players every success, especially those returning after some time away," Key said. 

Meanwhile, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Jonny Bairstow have found their way into the Three Lions squad after a long layoff due to their respective injuries. However, Ben Foakes - who kept brilliantly in Bairstow's absence - has to miss out as the experienced Yorhshireman has returned.

Interestingly, England's most successful Test cricketer James Anderson is also a part of the Test unit, as there were gloomy clouds over his selections after he pulled up a mild groin injury during a county game.

England's 15-member squad for IRE Test: 

Ben Stokes (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.