Jamaica Tallawahs Dismissed From CPL 2024; New Franchise Added

image-lqhlja1zJamaica Tallawahs were the 2022 CPL champions (X.com)

As per the latest reports, the 2022 CPL champions, the Jamaica Tallawahs, will no longer feature in the forthcoming CPL edition. The Jamaica-based franchise is set to be replaced by a new franchise based in Antigua and Barbuda. It has been learned that the Tallawahs’ owner, Kris Persaud, a Guyanese entrepreneur from Florida, stated that the decision was taken as the management could not agree on a feasible solution to run the franchise in a seamless manner.

As a result, the franchise was compelled to sell Tallawahs back to the CPL as options ran out. In 2024, an Antigua-based franchise will take the place of the current team, which is yet to be named. Initially, the island was home to a franchise called Antigua Hawksbills during the first two seasons of the CPL. However, their performance was lackluster, winning only three matches, leading to their replacement by the St. Kitts and Nevis Patriots in 2015.

In the wake of recent developments, the minister of sports in the Antigua and Barbuda Senate, Daryll Matthew, unveiled plans to launch a new CPL franchise for the upcoming CPL tournament.

"We can expect very easily and conservatively to generate approximately US$6 million per year by simply having a CPL franchise based in Antigua and Barbuda."

However, on a separate note, CPL is determined to relaunch a Jamaican-based franchise a few years down the line. But this development only seems possible by early 2025. In the years to follow, the Caribbean-based franchise league aims to harbor six teams/franchises based in Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago.

"The CPL remains committed to having a team based in Jamaica, but this will be in 2025 at the earliest. In 2024, there will be six teams taking part in the CPL with franchises based in Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts & Nevis, Saint Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago." a spokesperson said.

West Indies T20I captain Rovman Powell, who led the Tallawahs to their glorious title win in the 2022 CPL edition, was left disappointed to see his home island nation being omitted from the vibrant cash-rich league.