ICC announces umpire panel for T20 World Cup final

image-laciij90Marais Erasmus [Source: Twitter]

In a recent development, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the list of umpires, who will be officiating in the T20 World Cup final, scheduled between Pakistan and England on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Marais Erasmus and Kumar Dharmasena are announced as the two on-field umpires for the summit clash, while Chris Gaffaney, Paul Reiffel and Ranjan Madugalle will be the TV umpire, fourth umpire and match referee, respectively.

Anxious ICC fret on rain prediction

As 95 per cent chance of rain is predicted on the final day (Sunday) and the reserve day (Monday), it has caused a pother for the ICC.

Plans have been put in place to give a fitting end to an already historic tournament with the ICC making a few amendments in the playing conditions.

"The Event Technical Committee (ETC) has increased the provision of additional playing time on the reserve day to four hours from the original provision of two hours (clause 13.7.3 of the Playing Conditions), in case more time is required to complete the match and get a result,

"It may be noted that 10 overs per side are required to constitute a match in the knockout stage and every effort will be taken to complete the match on the scheduled match day. Every effort will be made for the match to be completed on Sunday, with any necessary reduction of overs taking place and only if the minimum number of overs necessary to constitute a match cannot be bowled on Sunday will the match go into the reserve day. Play on the reserve day will begin at 15h00 and would be a continuation of play from the scheduled match day."

Notably, Pakistan entered the final of the tournament by beating New Zealand, while England squashed India in the second semi-final.

Also Read: We leave Australia short of achieving our dream: Virat Kohli