• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Canadas Jeremy Gordon Makes Unwanted T20 Record Concedes 33 Runs In Single Over

Canada’s Jeremy Gordon Makes 'Unwanted' T20 Record; Concedes 33 Runs In Single Over

Aaron Jones and Andries Gous orchestrated USA's win over Canada (x.com)Aaron Jones and Andries Gous orchestrated USA's win over Canada (x.com)

Canada crashed to a seven-wicket defeat against USA in the opening Group A match of the 2024 T20 World Cup in Texas on June 2. For the hosts, middle-order batters Andries Gous and Aaron Jones flogged sparkling half-centuries to overcome Canada’s 194-run total with more than two overs to spare.

The two cricketers shared a match-defining 131-run partnership for the third wicket, and took a special liking to Canada’s new-ball fast bowler Jeremy Gordon.

Jeremy Gordon goes for 33 runs in an over

USA slipped to 42-2 by losing both openers within the first seven overs in a chase of 195. Thereafter, Andries Gous defied Canada’s charged-up bowling attack with a steady recovery partnership with number four batter Aaron Jones.

The two cricketers steered USA to 81-2 by the completion of the first 10 overs, and blazed past the 100-run team total in 11.3 overs. A few moments after reaching team 100, Gous and Jones leathered Canada’s new-ball fast bowler Jeremy Gordon for a 33-run over.

Gordon, who conceded just 11 runs from his two-over opening spell, leaked three sixes and two boundaries as well as a couple of no-balls in the 14th over of the USA innings as the hosts raced from 126-2 to 159-2 in a space of just six legitimate deliveries.

Gordon’s 33-run over also became one of the most expensive overs in T20I history. Here is a list of some of the costliest overs ever bowled in T20I cricket:

Number of Runs
Conceded by
36Stuart Broad (ENG)2007
36Akila Dananjaya (SL)2021
36Karim Janat (AFG)2024
36Kamran Khan (Qatar)2024
34Shivam Dube (IND)2020
34Nasum Ahmed (BAN)2022
33Jeremy Gordon (CAN)2024

With a crushing defeat upfront, Canada will now face Ireland in their subsequent Group A match on June 7. The match will be hosted by New York.