BCB Names BPL's Top-Performers In T20I Squad To Face England

image-lepxv8f2Shakib Al Hasan will lead Bangladesh against England (Twitter/saifahmed75)

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has named a solid 15-player squad to face the T20 World Champions, England, in the three-match T20I series, which the ODI fold will follow.

The Shakib Al Hasan-led Bangladesh squad seems to be a strong mixture of experienced core members with quite new faces in the lineup. 

Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, and Tanvir Islam - the showstoppers in the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) - have earned call-ups. Apart from these three young guns, Rony Talukdar has been recalled to the national squad after 8 years, courtesy of a strong BPL campaign.

The national selectors have made some notable exclusions from the T20I squad as well. Soumya Sarkar, Shoriful Islam and Yasir Ali - a part of the Bangladesh squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 - have been dropped for the English series.

The ODI fold between Bangladesh and England will end on Monday (March 6). It will be followed by the T20I leg, which is played between March 9-14 in Chattogram and Dhaka.

The first ODI between these two sides saw a cracking turn, as both challenged each other intensely, Dawid Malan's century turned out to be a match-shifter for the visitors.

Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Nasum Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain, Rony Talukdar, Towhid Hridoy, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Tanvir Islam.