• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Andile Phehlukwayo Added To South Africa Squad For Australia Odis

Andile Phehlukwayo Added To South Africa Squad For Australia ODIs

image-lmbtajb1Sisanda Magala is still recovering from his knee injury. (X.com)

In preparation for the second ODI against Australia in Bloemfontein on September 9, South Africa have included all-rounder Andile Phehlukwayo in their squad. His selection comes as a precautionary measure to cover for Sisanda Magala, who is currently recuperating from an acute knee injury. 

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has reported positive progress in Magala's recovery, hoping he may become eligible for selection later in the series.

"Magala has made positive progress in his recovery & will continue his build-up towards contention for selection during this series," stated  CSA's media release.

In the opening ODI at Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein, South African skipper Temba Bavuma fought valiantly, crafting an unbeaten century with 114 runs from 142 balls (comprising 14 fours and 1 six). Despite his exceptional effort, South Africa posted a subpar total of 222 all out.

However, the ensuing Australian chase was far from straightforward. The visitors found themselves in dire straits at 113/7 by the 17th over. Yet, a remarkable resurgence transpired as concussion replacement Marnus Labuschagne (80*) and Ashton Agar (48*) united to forge an astonishing, unbeaten 112-run partnership for the eighth wicket, clinching an unlikely victory.

While Andile Phehlukwayo has been added to the squad, South Africa is expected to maintain the same playing combination they fielded in the first ODI. As the series stands at 1-0 in favour of Australia, South Africa will be determined to level it with a victory in the second ODI in Bloemfontein.

South Africa's Updated Squad For Australia ODIs

Temba Bavuma(c), Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Quinton de Kock (wk), Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Dewald Brevis, Wayne Parnell, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Tabraiz Shamsi, Bjorn Fortuin, Anrich Nortje, Tristan Stubbs, Andile Phehlukwayo