IPL 2023: OneCricket's Team of the Tournament

image-lia4v4zwCSK with the IPL 2023 Trophy (Source: AP Photo)

The Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) has come to an exciting conclusion. We have our champions and it is Chennai Super Kings who have won the tournament. They have done it for the fifth time in the history of the tournament. 

Now that we have reached the end of the tournament, we will look at the best players. So, here is presenting you the OneCricket's team of the tournament.


Shubman Gill (Gujarat Titans)

Match: 17 Runs: 890 SR: 157.80 Avg: 59.33

Shubman Gill has been the biggest asset for the Gujarat Titans in IPL 2023. He has scored 851 runs and delivered in the team's most important stages. Gill scored runs in Qualifiers 1 and 2 and helped the team to the finals. He started well in the summit clash too and was looking dangerous before a MS Dhoni brilliance sent him back.  Hence, Gill finds his place in the tournament as the first opener.

image-li8o4mbnShubman Gill and Faf du Plessis are the two openers of IPL 2023 Team of the Tournament (Source: AP Photo/Twitter)

Faf du Plessis (Royal Challengers Bangalore) (Captain) ✈️

Match: 14 Runs: 730 SR: 153.68 Avg: 56.15

The RCB skipper was consistent throughout the tournament. Faf du Plessis scored 730 runs in 14 innings in IPL 2023. He was a solid presence at the top of the order for the team throughout. Although he failed to take his team to the playoffs, Faf's consistency in the tournament makes him the second opener of the team.

Middle Order

Suryakumar Yadav (Mumbai Indians)

Match: 16 Runs: 605 SR: 181.14 Avg: 43.12

The dynamic Indian middle-order batter showed in IPL 2023 why he is regarded as the best batter of this format. Suryakumar Yadav was the biggest positive for MI batting during the tournament. He scored 605 runs in 16 matches and gave valuable performances in crucial stages for the team. He is undoubtedly the best number three of the tournament and deserves a place in the 'Team of the Tournament.

image-li8ofi00Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube and Rinku Singh comprise the middle order of IPL 2023 Team of the Tournament (Source: AP Photo/Twitter)

Shivam Dube (Chennai Super Kings)

Match: 16 Runs: 418 SR: 158.33 Avg: 38.00

The Indian middle-order batter was written off from the scheme of things after ordinary outings. But he has turned things around in this tournament edition and has played some brilliant hands for CSK in IPL 2023. Shivam Dube has scored 418 runs in the tournament with a strike rate of 158.33 and has powered the team to win in some challenging situations. Dube's cameos in the tournament make him the best number four in the 'Team of the Tournament.'

Rinku Singh (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Match: 14 Runs: 474 SR: 159.52 Avg: 59.25

The KKR lower-middle order batter has been nothing sort of a new sensation in IPL 2023. However, Rinku Singh became the talk of the town when he slammed five consecutive sixes off the last five balls in the match to power KKR to a win against GT. After that, he played a few more effective knocks for KKR and emerged as one of the best finishers in this tournament. Rinku played 14 matches in the tournament and scored 474 runs while batting at number six. These numbers are incredible for someone who batted so low down the order, and he absolutely deserves his place in the 'Team of the Tournament.'


Heinrich Klaasen (Sunrisers Hyderabad) (wk) ✈️

Match: 12 Runs: 448 SR: 177.08 Avg: 49.77

image-li8oj2xnHeinrich Klaasen played a brilliant hand of SRH in the middle-order (Source: AP Photo)

Sunirsers Hyderabad had a lacklustre season in IPL 2023. They had very few positives to take from the tournament barring the performance of Heinrich Klaasen. From the time he got into the playing XI, Klaasen was the lone warrior for SRH. He scored 448 runs in 11 innings at an average of 49.77 and a strike rate of 177.07. 

All Rounders

Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings)

Match: 16 Wickets: 20 Economy Rate: 7.56 Average: 21.55

Ravindra Jadeja has played his role in the CSK team in IPL 2023 very silently and effectively. He has picked up 20 wickets in 16 matches and has also been economical, giving the team an advantage in the middle overs. The biggest contribution from Jadeja came in the final when he scored 10 runs of the last two balls to take CSK to their fifth IPL title. As a result, he finds his way into the Team of the Tournament as one of the all-rounders.

image-li8oo6l3Rashid Khan and Ravindra Jadeja have been the best all-rounders in IPL 2023 (Source: AP Photo)

Rashid Khan (Gujarat Titans) ✈️

Match: 17 Wickets: 27 Economy Rate: 8.23 Average: 20.44

The Afghan superstar has done it all for his team in the tournament. Rashid Khan has been brilliant in his dominant trade and has picked up 27 wickets in the tournament. He also did a great job with the bat in a couple of matches where he played fiery cameos in the lower order. Rashid Khan is an automatic choice for the Team of the Tournament of IPL 2023.


Mohammed Shami (Gujarat Titans)

Match: 17 Wickets: 28 Economy Rate: 8.03 Average: 18.64

The Indian pacer was one of the mainstays of the GT bowling lineup. Mohammed Shami picked up 28 wickets in the tournament and walked away with the purple cap. Shami was lethal throughout the tournament with the new ball and is easily the first-choice pacer for the team.

image-li8oy3weMohammed Siraj, Matheesha Pathirana and Mohammed Shami are the bowlers of IPL 2023 Team of the Tournament (Source: AP Photo)

Matheesha Pathirana (Chennai Super Kings) ✈️

Match: 12 Wickets: 19 Economy Rate: 8.00 Average: 19.52

The Sri Lankan youngster has been a revelation for CSK in the tournament. Matheesha Pathirana was unavailable for selection in the first couple of matches, and CSK bowling looked disarray. But since his arrival in the team, CSK's death bowling got a boost, and there was a visible change in the team's performance.

Mohammed Siraj (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Match: 14 Wickets: 19 Economy Rate: 7.50 Average: 19.73

The Indian pacer was one of the few positives the RCB can take from IPL 2023. Mohammed Siraj was picking up wickets with the new ball in most matches. While RCB will hope he carries the form to the next edition, team India will hope he keeps chipping away with wickets in the Indian blues in the upcoming WTC final. Siraj will be the new ball bowler alongside Mohammed Shami in this team. 

Impact Players

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Devon Conway, Yuzvendra Chahal, Varun Chakravarthy, Axar Patel.

Here is a look at the the OneCricket's Team of the Tournament:

image-li8nt483IPL 2023: OneCricket's Team of the Tournament (Source: OneCricket)