Bangladesh T20 Captain

Najmul Shanto Hossain is Bangladesh's current T20 captain []Najmul Shanto Hossain is Bangladesh's current T20 captain []

Bangladesh's T20I captaincy has undergone a noticeable evolution over the years, highlighted by a significant transition from long-term captaincies to a more fluctuating leadership model in recent years.

In this article, we take a look at the captains who have helmed Bangladesh's T20I side, how they have performed, and what their captaincy stats look like in this exciting format of cricket.

All T20 Captains of Bangladesh

Between 2009 and 2022, the Bangladesh team enjoyed periods of relative stability under captains like Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza and Mahmudullah.

However, the narrative took a different turn post-2022, as Bangladesh cricket saw a rapid change in its captaincy. This period has been marked by short stints and frequent changes in leadership, leading to a phase of relative instability and mixed success.

Captains like Litton Das, Nurul Hasan, and Mosaddek Hossain had brief roles, and the team struggled to maintain a consistent form due to the lack of continuity at the helm.

Bangladesh’s T20 Captains 2006-2024

Tied/No Result
Win Percentage
Shahriar Nafees1100/0100.00
Mohammad Ashraful11290/018.18
Shakib Al Hasan3916230/041.02
Mushfiqur Rahim238140/134.78
Mashrafe Mortaza2810170/135.71
Litton Das1010/00.00
Nurul Hasan5320/060.00
Mosaddek Hossain1010/00.00
Saif Hassan3210/066.66
Najmul Hossain Shanto14760/150.00

Bangladesh's Most Successful T20 Captain

Shakib Al Hasan has the best record as Bangladesh's T20 captain Shakib Al Hasan has the best record as Bangladesh's T20 captain 

Shakib Al Hasan, widely regarded as one of the greatest all-rounders in cricket, also holds the distinction of being the most successful Bangladesh T20 captain for players to have led in a minimum of 15 matches.

During his tenure, Shakib led the team in 39 matches, winning 16 and losing 23, achieving a win percentage of 41.02%. His leadership was instrumental in steering the team through numerous challenges, utilizing his extensive experience and cricketing intellect to enhance team performance.

Under his captaincy, Bangladesh not only competed valiantly against top-tier teams but also secured notable victories that bolstered their confidence and stature in international cricket.

All T20 Captains of Bangladesh: FAQs

Q.1. Who is the captain of Bangladesh T20 World Cup 2024?

Answer: Najmul Hossain Shanto is the captain for Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup 2024.

Q.2. Who is the vice captain of Bangladesh?

Answer: Taskin Ahmed is the vice captain of Bangladesh.

Q.3. Who is the captain of the Bangladesh cricket team today?

Answer: Najmul Hossain Shanto is the current captain of Bangladesh in all formats.

Q.4. Who is in the squad for T20 2024 Bangladesh?

Answer: The squad includes Najmul Hossain Shanto (c), Taskin Ahmed (vice-capt), Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Tanzid Hasan, Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Tanvir Islam, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan.

Q.5. Who is the new ODI captain of Bangladesh?

Answer: Najmul Hossain Shanto is the new ODI captain of Bangladesh.