Uganda's Squad For T20 World Cup

Uganda's Squad for T20 World Cup (X)Uganda's Squad for T20 World Cup (X)

The Uganda Cricket Team has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. The Cricket Cranes will play their tournament in group C with West Indies, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Afghanistan.  

Brian Masaba has been appointed as the captain of the team in the marquee tournament. With Riazat Ali Shah taking the role of the vice-captain. The team is joined by several other senior players like Frank Nsubuga, who will be one of the oldest players in the tournament.

The spin-bowling all-rounder Alpesh Ramjani has gained recognition and grabbed the limelight after getting nominated for 2023 ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. 

Uganda's Squad For T20 World Cup

Player Name
Player Position
Brian Masaba (C)32 years Bowler
Fred Achelam 23 years Wicket Keeper Batter
Dinesh Nakrani
32 years
Alpesh Ramjani29 years Allrounder
Robinson Obuya 23 yearsBatter
Kenneth Waiswa25 years Allrounder
Bilal Hassan34 years
Cosmas Kyewuta22 years Bowler
Simon Ssesazi27 years Batter
Riazat Ali Shah (vc)26 years Allrounder
Ronak Patel35 years Bowler
Roger Galwanao Mukasa
34 years Wicketkeeper
Frank Nsubuga
43 yearsAllrounder
Henry Ssenyondo
30 years Bowler
Juma Miyagi
21 years Allrounder
Ronald Lutaaya (Travelling reserve)21 yearsBatter
Innocent Mwebaze (Travelling reserve)
20 years

Uganda's  T20 Captain 2024: Brian Masaba

Brian Masaba is a Uganda Cricketer and is the current captain of the Uganda Cricket team for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024. The 32-year-old bowler has played for the 2014 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. 

In 2018 he was appointed as Uganda's vice-captain for the ICC World Cricket League Division Four tournament. 

The cricketer has made his debut against Ghana on May 23, 2019. Ahead of the 2019 Oman Cricket World Cup Challenge League B tournament, he was appointed as the captain of the Uganda national cricket team. 

In 2024, the bowler has been appointed as the captain for the T20 World Cup. 

Uganda's  Head Coach: Abhay Sharma 

Abhay Sharma is a former first-class cricketer and has played under Delhi, Railways, and Rajasthan. Since 2016, he has been working as a fielding coach for India A and India Under-19s. In 2021, he was appointed as the fielding coach of the Indian women's national cricket team. 

Since 2007, Abhay Sharma has served as the coach of the Railways cricket team for seven years. Sharma has completed his coaching classes in batting, fielding and wicket-keeping in England after this he was assigned to the coach in the National Cricket Academy. 

In 2013, he became the fielding and wicket-keeping coach of India A. 

Ahead of the 2014-15 Ranji Trophy, Sharma was appointed as the head coach of Himachal Pradesh. In 2015, he was assigned the role of fielding coach for India Under-19's. 

Abhay Sharma has been appointed as the head coach of Uganda Cricket Team for the upcoming T20 World Cup because of his experience. 

Uganda's Squad For T20 World Cup: FAQ's

Q.1 What is the squad of Uganda in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Answer: Brian Masaba (c), Riazat Ali Shah (vc), Kenneth Waiswa, Dinesh Nakrani, Frank Nsubuga, Ronak Patel, Roger Mukasa, Cosmas Kyewuta, Bilal Hassun, Fred Achelam, Robinson Obuya, Simon Ssesazi, Henry Ssenyondo, Alpesh Ramjani, Juma Miyaji

Reserve players: Ronald Lutaaya, Innocent Mwebaze

Q.2 How is the Captain of Uganda for 2024 T20 World Cup? 

Answer: Brian Masaba, the 32-year-old cricketer has been appointed as the captain of Uganda for the T20 World Cup 2024. 

Q.3 When will Uganda start its T20 World Cup campaign? 

Answer: Uganda begin their T20 World Cup campaign on June 3 against Afghanistan in Guyana.