Top 5 Teams With Most Victories In IPL 

image-ls2xyutoRohit Sharma and MS Dhoni (X.COM)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has become a cornerstone of cricketing entertainment worldwide since its inception in 2008. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have undoubtedly been the flag bearers of success in the tournament, demonstrating remarkable consistency and dominance over the years.

Mumbai Indians, led by their astute leadership and strong team dynamics, have clinched the IPL trophy five times, underlining their status as one of the most formidable franchises in the league. With a balanced squad and a knack for rising to the occasion in crucial moments, Mumbai Indians have set high standards for excellence in T20I cricket.

Similarly, Chennai Super Kings, under the guidance of their charismatic captain MS Dhoni, have carved a legacy of success with five IPL titles to their name. 

While Kolkata Knight Riders have also tasted success on two occasions, the likes of Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals continue to strive for their maiden IPL title, showcasing the competitive nature of the league. Despite enduring setbacks, both teams have showcased moments of brilliance and possess the potential to clinch the coveted trophy in the future.

In this article, At OneCricket let's delve into the top 5 teams with the most victories in IPL.

1.Mumbai Indians (138 wins)

image-ls1sdq1hMumbai Indians most successful team in IPL (X.COM)

Mumbai Indians have indeed established themselves as the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL), with an impressive track record and a lineup of exceptional players. Led by Rohit Sharma, MI has achieved remarkable success, winning five IPL trophies (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020) and accumulating 138 victories in 247 matches.

The team's journey to dominance began when Rohit Sharma took over the captaincy midway through the 2013 season. Under his leadership, MI not only secured their maiden IPL title but also demonstrated consistency and resilience in subsequent seasons. Players like Kieron Pollard, Quinton de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Ishan Kishan, have been instrumental in MI's success, contributing significantly with their skills and performances on the field.

2. Chennai Super Kings (131)

Chennai Super Kings indeed holds the record of the second most successful team after the Mumbai Indians. Under the astute leadership of MS Dhoni, CSK has been a dominant force in the league, clinching five IPL titles (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023). The team's legacy faced a setback when they were suspended from the IPL for the 2016 and 2017 editions due to controversies. However, upon their return in 2018, CSK made an emphatic statement by winning their third IPL trophy, showcasing their resilience and determination.

CSK have played 225 matches so far with 131 wins in IPL games. In 2020, after CSK failed to make it to the playoffs, many critics of the Men in Yellow came heavily on them. With MS Dhoni's leadership, a strong core of players like Devon Conway, Ravindra Jadeja, Deepak Chahar, and Ruturaj Gaikwad along with the support of their loyal fan base, CSK remains a formidable contender in the IPL. 

3. Kolkata Knight Riders (119 Wins)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have indeed established themselves as one of the most successful franchises in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With 119 victories in 240 matches, showcasing their consistency and competitiveness in the tournament.

One of the remarkable achievements of KKR is their record of registering 10 consecutive wins in the IPL, a feat they accomplished during the 2014-15 season. KKR's success is further underscored by the fact that they are the first team, apart from Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians, to register over 100 wins in the IPL, emphasizing their stature as a top-tier franchise.

Under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, KKR experienced their most successful period, winning the IPL titles in 2012 and 2014. Gambhir's leadership played a crucial role in shaping KKR into a formidable team and guiding them to victory on multiple occasions.

4. Royal Challengers Bangalore (114 wins)

image-ls1sxekbRCB has a captivating journey in the IPL (X.COM)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has a captivating journey in the Indian Premier League since its inception in 2008. Despite not clinching an IPL title, RCB has garnered immense support from fans across the globe, owing to their association with prominent players and their entertaining style of cricket.

RCB has boasted a lineup of star players, including the likes of Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis, and Glenn Maxwell, which has contributed to their popularity and fan following. However, despite their star-studded roster, RCB has faced criticism for their inconsistent performances in recent years.

Despite the challenges and ups and downs, RCB's overall performance in the IPL is commendable, with 114 wins in 242 matches, highlighting their competitive spirit and ability to compete at the highest level.

5. Delhi Capitals (105 wins)

The Delhi Capitals have been participating in the Indian Premier League since its inception in 2008. Despite their longstanding presence, the team has yet to secure an IPL title. In the 2020 IPL season, under the leadership of Shreyas Iyer, the Delhi Capitals reached the final but were defeated by the Mumbai Indians. The team faced challenges from 2013 to 2018, failing to qualify for the playoffs for six consecutive seasons.

In 2019, the Delhi Capitals management revamped the team, bringing in quality players and appointing Sourav Ganguly as an official advisor. This restructuring led to the team qualifying for the playoffs after seven years, winning nine out of 14 group-stage matches. Since the rebuilding phase, the team's performance has improved, and they aim to clinch the IPL trophy in 2024. Despite the tough period from 2013 to 2018, the Delhi Capitals have achieved the milestone of 105 victories in 238 games, placing them fifth among the teams with the most wins in the IPL.