T20 World Cup Winners List

India won the T20 World Cup in 2024 (AP Photo)India won the T20 World Cup in 2024 (AP Photo)

The T20 World Cup is the premier international Twenty20 cricket tournament, organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Since its inception in 2007, the tournament has captured the imagination of cricket fans around the globe by offering high-octane action and unforgettable moments every two years.

The journey of the T20 World Cup began in 2007, with MS Dhoni's India emerging as the inaugural champions after a thrilling final against Pakistan in Johannesburg. And latestly, Rohit Sharma became the first Indian captain after Dhoni to win the illustrious trophy. 

This victory not only established India as a dominant force in the shortest format but also set the stage for the tournament's immense popularity.

The second edition in 2009 saw Pakistan redeeming themselves by clinching the title, defeating Sri Lanka at Lord's. The 2010 tournament witnessed England securing their first major ICC trophy, before West Indies won in 2014 and 2016. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka tasted victory in 2014 by defeating India.

After a gap due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2021 T20 World Cup was relocated to the UAE and Oman, where Australia claimed their maiden T20 World Cup. And then, England became the reigning champions in 2022 by defeating Pakistan in a closely contested final, held in Australia.

T20 World Cup Winners List

Runner Up
Winning Captain
2024IndiaSouth Africa7 runsKensington Oval, BridgetownRohit Sharma
2022EnglandPakistan5 wicketsMelbourne Cricket Ground, MelbourneJos Buttler
2021AustraliaNew Zealand8 wicketsDubai International Stadium, DubaiAaron Finch
2016West IndiesEngland4 wicketsEden Gardens, KolkataDaren Sammy
2014Sri LankaIndia6 wicketsSher-e-Bangla Stadium, DhakaLasith Malinga
2012West IndiesSri Lanka36 runsR Premadasa Stadium, ColomboDaren Sammy
2010EnglandAustralia7 wicketsKensington Oval, BridgetownPaul Collingwood
Sri Lanka8 wicketsLord's, LondonYounis Khan
IndiaPakistan5 runsWanderers Stadium, JohannesburgMS Dhoni

T20 World Cup Winners List: FAQs

Q.1. How many T20 World Cup all team won?

Answer: West Indies, England and India are the three nations to have secured the T20 World Cup twice, while Pakistan, Australia, and Sri Lanka have each claimed victory once.

Q.2. How many T20s has India won?

Answer: India has won the T20 World Cup twice.

Q.3. Who won the most T20 World Cup men's?

Answer: West Indies (2012 & 2016), England (2010 & 2022) and India (2007, 2024) have won the most T20 World Cups, with each team securing the title twice.

Q.4. Who was the captain of the West Indies T20 World Cup winners?

Answer: Daren Sammy was the captain of the West Indies T20 World Cup winning teams.

Q.5. Who won the first World Cup?

Answer: India won the first-ever T20 World Cup.