Punjab Kings Squad 2024

Punjab Kings Squad 2024 [x.com]Punjab Kings Squad 2024 [x.com]

The Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, have been an integral part of the Indian Premier League (IPL) since its inception in 2008. Representing the vibrant state of Punjab, the franchise has been a consistent contender in the tournament, although the coveted IPL trophy has eluded them thus far.

Under the astute leadership of Shikhar Dhawan, the Punjab Kings have set their sights on clinching their maiden IPL trophy.

Established amidst the fervor of the inaugural IPL season, the Punjab Kings have evolved over the years. The ownership consortium, spearheaded by prominent figures such as Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Saptarshi Dey, has contributed to its growth.

The franchise witnessed a significant transformation in February 2021 when it underwent a rebranding exercise, transitioning from Kings XI Punjab to Punjab Kings.

As the IPL 2024 season looms on the horizon, the Punjab Kings are gearing up to make their mark once again. With a blend of veterans and promising young talents, the squad is brimming with potential. Ahead of IPL 2024, let’s take a look at the Punjab Kings Squad List for 2024.

Punjab Kings Squad List 2024

Shikhar Dhawan (C)Batters8.25 crore
Rilee Rossouw ✈️Batters8 crore
Jonny Bairstow ✈️Wicketkeepers 6.75 crore
Harpreet SinghBatters40 lakh
Jitesh SharmaWicketkeepers 20 lakh
Ashutosh SharmaBatters20 lakh
Prabhsimran SinghWicketkeepers 60 lakh
Atharva TaideBatters20 lakh
Shivam SinghBatters20 lakh
Prince ChoudharyBatters20 lakh
Sikandar Raza ✈️
All-rounders50 lakh
Sam Curran ✈️ All-rounders18.5 crore
Liam Livingstone ✈️ All-rounders11.5 crore
Vishwanath Pratap Singh All-rounders20 lakh
Tanay ThyagarajanAll-rounders20 lakh
Rishi DhawanAll-rounders55 lakh
Shashank SinghAll-rounders 20 lakh
Chris Woakes ✈️ Bowlers
4.20 crore
Kagiso Rabada ✈️Bowlers9.25 Crore
Rahul ChaharBowlers5.25 Crore
Harshal PatelBowlers11.75 crore
Arshdeep SinghBowlers11.75 crore
Vidhwath KaverappaBowlers20 lakh
Harpreet BrarBowlers3.8 crore
Nathan Ellis ✈️ Bowlers75 lakh

(✈️ overseas players)

Punjab Kings Retained Players List 2024

Shikhar Dhawan 8.25 crore
Jonny Bairstow 6.75 crore
Prabhsimran Singh 60 lakh
Jitesh Sharma20 lakh
Sikandar Raza
50 lakh
Rishi Dhawan 55 lakh
Liam Livingstone 11.5 crore
Atharva Taide 40 lakh
Arshdeep Singh 4 crore
Nathan Ellis 75 lakh
Sam Curran 18.5 crore
Kagiso Rabada 9.25 Crore
Harpreet Brar 3.8 crore
Rahul Chahar 5.25 Crore
Harpreet Singh 40 lakh
Vidwath Kaverappa 20 lakh
Shivam Singh 20 lakh

Punjab Kings Released Players List 2024

  • Shahrukh Khan, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Baltej Singh, Mohit Rathee, Raj Bawa

Punjab Kings Captains

Yuvraj Singh (KXIP)2008-200929171200
KC Sangakkara (KXIP)2010-2010 133910
DPMD Jayawardene (KXIP)2010-2010 10100
AC Gilchrist (KXIP)2011-2013 34171700
DJ Hussey (KXIP)2012-2013 126600
GJ Bailey (KXIP)2014-201535181700
V Sehwag (KXIP)2015-201510010
DA Miller (KXIP)2016-201661500
M Vijay (KXIP)2016-201683500
GJ Maxwell (KXIP)2017-2017 147700
R Ashwin (KXIP)2018-2019 28121600
KL Rahul (KXIP)2020-202127111420
MA Agarwal (PBKS)2021-2022147700
S Dhawan (PBKS)2022-2023 124800
SM Curran (PBKS)2023-2023 32100

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh was entrusted with the captaincy of the Punjab Kings in the inaugural seasons of the IPL. Under his leadership, the team showed promise, winning 17 out of 29 matches with a commendable winning percentage of 58.62%. While Yuvraj displayed his prowess both as a batsman and a leader, the elusive IPL title remained out of reach during his tenure.

KC Sangakkara & DPMD Jayawardene

In 2010, the captaincy was split between Sri Lankan legends Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene. Despite their experience and cricketing prowess, the season didn't go as planned for Punjab Kings, as they managed only 3 wins out of 13 matches.

Adam Gilchrist & David Hussey

The arrival of Australian stalwart Adam Gilchrist injected a new energy into the team. With David Hussey as his deputy, Gilchrist led from the front, guiding Punjab Kings to 17 wins out of 34 matches during his captaincy stint.

George Bailey

The closest the Punjab Kings came to IPL glory was during the 2014 season under the leadership of George Bailey. The team exhibited remarkable performances, reaching the finals only to falter against the Kolkata Knight Riders. Bailey's captaincy instilled hope in the Punjab camp, but the dream of lifting the trophy remained unfulfilled.

Virender Sehwag & David Miller

Virender Sehwag briefly led the team in 2015, albeit for just one match. David Miller, the South African power-hitter, then took charge in the latter half of the 2016 season. However, both their stints were short-lived and didn't yield significant success.

R Ashwin

In 2018, R Ashwin took the reins of the Punjab Kings. The team showcased a promising start under his leadership. However, despite a strong start, inconsistencies plagued their campaign, and the coveted title continued to elude them. Ashwin's tenure was short-lived, and he eventually parted ways with the franchise after the 2019 season.

KL Rahul

KL Rahul, known for his prolific batting, was handed the captaincy baton in 2020. While he displayed his batting prowess, leading the team proved to be a challenging task. Despite his individual brilliance, the Punjab Kings couldn't string together consistent performances under his leadership.

Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Agarwal took over the captaincy from KL Rahul in 2021, leading the team to 7 wins out of 14 matches. 

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan's captaincy in 2022-2023 saw 12 matches with 4 wins, a challenging period for the team.

Sam Curran

Curran's brief stint in 2023 saw 3 matches with 2 wins, displaying potential in a short span.

Punjab Kings Coach

In December 2023, Punjab Kings made a significant announcement regarding the appointment of former Indian all-rounder, Sanjay Bangar, as the new Head of Cricket Development for the upcoming 2024 edition. Bangar, who previously served as the head coach of the team in 2015 and 2016, brings a wealth of experience and expertise to the role. He will be collaborating closely with the current head coach, Trevor Bayliss, to further enhance the team's performance and development strategies.

Punjab Kings Squad: FAQs

Whose team is Kings 11 Punjab?

Kings 11 Punjab is jointly owned by Mohit Burman (46%), Ness Wadia (23%), Preity Zinta (23%), and Karan Paul (8%).

Which is the new home ground of Punjab Kings?

Punjab Kings will play their home games in the upcoming IPL 2024 season at Maharaja Yadavindra Singh Stadium in Mullanpur, Mohali.

How many times Punjab Kings won IPL?

Despite participating in all 16 seasons of the Indian Premier League, Punjab Kings is yet to clinch the coveted IPL trophy.

What is the old name of PBKS?

Punjab Kings (PBKS), formerly known as Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), is a professional franchise cricket team based in Mohali, Punjab, competing in the Indian Premier League (IPL).