• Home
  • Player Stories
  • Smat 2022 Ajinkya Rahane Set To Lead As Mumbai Announce A Star Studded Squad

SMAT 2022: Ajinkya Rahane set to lead as Mumbai announce a star-studded squad

image-l8ncqz33Ajinkya Rahane to lead Mumbai in SMAT 2022. PC: Twitter

Mumbai Cricket Association senior selection committee, on Thursday, announced a strong 15-member squad for the upcoming Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (SMAT), which is scheduled to start from 11th of October.

Mumbai have been placed in Elite Group A who will be playing their matches in Rajkot, alongside Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Vidarbha, Railways, Assam, Manipur and Uttarakhand. They will square off against Manipur in the first match of their campaign on October 11th.

Ajinkya Rahane to lead the side

Ajinkya Rahane, who was the highest run-scorer for Mumbai last season, will lead the side which includes stars like Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shardul Thakur and Sarfaraz Khan.

Shaw will open the innings for Mumbai and will be partnered by  Jaiswal, who is coming off with a match winning double century for West Zone in Duleep Trophy Final.

The Salil Ankola-led selection committee also selected Sarfaraz Khan, with no place for Siddhesh Lad and Arman Jaffer from the last season's squad. However, Sairaj Patil, who could not take part in SMAT last year due to testing Covid positive, finds a place and is expected to take care of the finishing role.

Shivam Dube returns

image-l8ncl5f2Shivam Dube in action for Mumbai in SMAT 2021. PC: Twitter

Hard hitting all-rounder Shivam Dube, also makes a comeback after missing out on Ranji Trophy knockouts in June due to injury. The 29-year-old had an impressive season with Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2022.

As senior wicket-keeper batter Aditya Tare decided to move to Uttarakhand for the forthcoming domestic season, Hardik Tamore has been named as the lone wicket keeper in the side.

Shams Mulani, young off spinner Tanush Kotian and wrist spinner Prasant Solanki will take care of the spin department.

Indian international Shardul Thakur has also been named in the Mumbai squad alongside experienced Dhawal Kulkarni, who will be assisted by Mohit Awasthi, who had a terrific first season for Mumbai in the last cycle. Swing bowling all-rounder Aman Khan and Tushar Deshpande are other two pacers named in the squad.

Mumbai Squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Prithvi Shaw, Sarfaraz Khan, Shardul Thakur, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Hardik Tamore (WK), Prashant Solanki, Dhawal Kulkarni, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Aman Khan, Sairaj Patil, Mohit Awasthi.

ALSO READ: Ruturaj Gaikwad shares a piece of advice given to him by MS Dhoni