Shivani Shukla ∙ May 16 2023, 12:35 AM | 2 Min Read

Shimron Hetmyer Dropped Despite Being Available: CWI Selector

image-lhp6lmkfShimron Hetmyer has been excluded from West Indies squad for World Cup Qualifiers | Source: Twitter 

The West Indies Cricket Board recently announced their squad for the upcoming World Cup 2023 qualifiers, which is set to be played in Zimbabwe. One of the most surprising omissions from the squad was Shimron Hetmyer, who has been in outstanding form.

The fact that the hard-hitting batter has been left out of the team underlines the persisting strain between the player and the cricket board. However, Hetmyer's reputation as a dangerous ball striker and his ability to excel under pressure make his absence a huge loss for the team.

Amidst the swirl of rumours and speculations, Desmond Haynes, the lead selector of the West Indies cricket team, has now revealed that Shimron Hetmyer formally informed the West Indies Cricket Board about his availability for the World Cup 2023 qualifiers via email.

However, after consulting with the current ODI captain of West Indies, Shai Hope, it was concluded that there would be no modifications to the West Indies squad, with a focus on preserving the team dynamics that were evident during the ODI matches against South Africa in March.

The absence of Shimron Hetmyer will be sorely felt by West Indies, considering his exceptional touch in recent times. In the ongoing IPL season, he has been a standout performer, accumulating 253 runs in 12 matches at a strike rate of 149.70 and an average of 36.14.

Another significant player missing from the squad is Evin Lewis, who has opted to make himself unavailable for West Indies until the completion of the Caribbean Premier League. Notably, the CPL 2023 will kick off on August 17, concluding with the final showdown scheduled for September 25.

West Indies ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Squad: 

Shai Hope (c), Rovman Powell (vc), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd.