Bangladesh Squad: Shakib included in Test team for Zimbabwe series, Nurul Hasan makes an all format comeback

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singh

Author| Jun 23, 3:36 PM

PC- Twitter
PC- Twitter

Shakib Al Hasan has made a comeback to the Bangladesh Test side after skipping the Sri Lanka Tests in favour of the Indian Premier League. Along with him, wicketkeeper-batsman, Nurul Hasan has also made a comeback across formats in the tour. Other players making a comeback in various formats include off-spinner Nayeem Hassan (Test), Rubel Hossain and Taijul Islam (ODIs) and Aminul Islam (T20Is). 

"Getting the best player (Shakib) in three formats is always a plus point and we are hopeful that the team will be morally boosted up by his presence. We are hoping to have a good performance from him," Chief selector Minhajul Abedin said on Shakib’s inclusion in the squad. 

Nurul, who last played a Test in 2018 and limited-overs cricket in 2017 (T20I) for Banglades, has made a comeback purely on his domestic form including his impressive run in the ongoing Dhaka Premier League. The 27-year-old has scored 246 runs in the nine innings of the T20 tournament with an impressive average of 41. 

"If you consider the present performance he deserves to make a comeback in three formats. When we took him with us in Sri Lanka team management was very happy with him with his skill set," Minhaj said about Nurul’s inclusion in the side. 

Uncapped Shamim Patowary, the U-19 star is the only fresh face who made his way to the squad. He has been included in the T20I team.  The Test will be played from July 7 while the ODIs are scheduled on July 16, 18 and 20 in Harare. wThe three T20Is will also be played at the same venue on July 23, 25 and 27. 

Bangladesh T20I squad: Mahmudullah (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Aminul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan and Nurul Hasan

Bangladesh ODI squad: Tamim Iqbal (c), Mohammad Naim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Nurul Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam and Rubel Hossain.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mominul Haque (c), Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam.

  • Shakib Al Hasan
  • Nurul Hasan
  • Shamim Hossain Patwari
  • BAN
  • ZIM
  • BAN vs ZIM 2021
  • Harare Sports Club, Harare

Share News On

Read Next

More News