Sri Lanka Women squad announced for white-ball series against India

Tejas Rathi

Tejas Rathi

Author| Jun 20, 3:13 PM

PC: Twitter/ITGDsports
PC: Twitter/ITGDsports

On June 20 (Monday), Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced the squad to face India in 3 ODIs and as many T20Is. The tour will begin on June 23 and will culminate on July 7. Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium will host T20Is, while ODIs will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. 

The left-handed batter Chamari Athapaththu has retained her leadership position, despite the team's disappointing performances against Pakistan. 

They lost the ODI series 1-2 while losing all the 3 T20I matches in May-June.

In the ICC Women's Championship 2017-20, Sri Lanka finished last with only one win in 18 games and would look to come up with an improved performance. 

Vishmi Gunaratne, who made her debut in the T20I format earlier this year has been added to both the squads. 

On the other hand, the Indian women's team last featured in the World Cup, and could secure only three wins in seven appearances, and failed to reach the semi-finals. 

This will be their first fixture for India in the 2022-2025 ICC Women's Championship cycle, which will determine the teams featuring in the 2026 ODI World Cup.  

It will be the start of the new era for the Indian team, as the experienced skipper Mithali Raj bid goodbye to international cricket earlier this month. 

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the Indian side across all the formats. 

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Kavisha Dilhari, Nilakshi de Silva, Anushka Sanjeevani, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweeram, Achini Kulasuriya, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Ama Kanchana, Udeshika Prabodhani, Rashmi de Silva, Hansima Karunaratne, Kaushani Nuthyangana, Sathya Sandeepani, Tharika Sewwandi

  • Chamari Athapaththu
  • SLW
  • INDW
  • SLW vs INDW 2022

Share News On

Read Next

More News