#OTD in 2018: Chennai Super Kings won their third title in the Indian Premier League

Tejas Rathi

| May 27, 4:14 PM

news image

On this day in 2018, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) lifted their third title in the Indian Premier League (IPL) by chasing the target of 179 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. 

CSK had reached the playoffs with nine wins; SRH also had the same number of victories in 14 league matches. In Qualifier 1, the MS Dhoni-led side had prevailed in a close finish. After that, the Sunrisers had to play and win Qualifier 2 to get to the final. 

Batting first, SRH lost Shreevats Goswami (5) in an unfortunate run-out dismissal that transpired in the second over of the innings. 

Shikhar Dhawan started cautiously but hit boundaries to steer the team in the powerplay overs. Although, just as it looked, Dhawan and Kane Williamson were turning dangerous with their partnerships, the southpaw was dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja for 26 off 25 balls in the ninth over. 

Then the Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan came to the crease to accelerate the run rate along with his skipper, helping his team pass the score of 100 in the 12th over. 

However, Williamson (47) was stumped off Karn Sharma in an attempt to play an inside-out shot. A few overs later, Shakib (23) holed out to Raina at the covers off Bravo. 

After his dismissal, Carlos Brathwaite scored 21 off 11, and Yusuf Pathan was terrific with his hitting abilities and remained unbeaten on 45 off 25 balls. Eventually, SRH posted 178 on the board. 

In reply, CSK lost Faf du Plessis (10) early and were 16/1 at the end of the fourth over of the innings. They could only accumulate 35 runs in the powerplay overs. 

Shane Watson and Suresh Raina were terrific with their timing and shots all around the park, as the team reached the score of 80 at the halfway mark. 

The 13th over cost SRH 27 runs, as Watson hit Sandeep Sharma for three sixes and two fours, which titled the match in CSK’s favour. 

Although Braithwaite dismissed Raina (32) in the 14th over with CSK just needing 46 off 39 balls. 

Watson continued his momentum and tonked the bowlers apart. The Australian all-rounder, who played that tournament majorly as a batter, played one of the most sensational knocks in the history of the Indian Premier League. 

Watson continued his dream run in the tournament by scoring 555 runs at staggering numbers of 39.64 and 154.59. The opener finished off the game in the penultimate over and later won the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his contribution of 117* off 57 balls. 

Share News On