Ireland announce squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers in Oman

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singh

Author| Jan 22, 12:36 PM

PC- Twitter
PC- Twitter

Ireland, which recently created history by beating West Indies in an ODI series for the first time ever, announced its squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifiers which are to be held in Oman from February 15 to 24. 

The team includes most known faces in Irish cricket with Harry Tector, the 22-year old batter also being named in the squad and regular skipper Andy Balbirnie leading it. Kevin O’ Brien who was part of the 2021 T20 World Cup squad has not been named for the qualifier event in the Irish squad. 

"As we look ahead to the T20 World Cup Qualifier, we know it will be a series of tough, hard-fought games, but hopefully, we can carry the confidence and momentum of the recent series forward to the Qualifier and beyond,” Andrew White, Chair of Ireland men selectors, said.

Talking about the unceremonious exit of Ireland, a Test-playing nation after a defeat from Namibia, an associate, the chief selector said, "I know that the players and coaches were as disappointed as the fans about the early exit from the T20 World Cup last year. But I also am aware how keen this group is to rectify the failings of the past."

Ireland, who have been drafted in Group A of the global qualifiers for T20 World Cup 2022 which will be held in Australia, will be leaving for Oman on February 4. There will be a total of four teams qualifying for the Round 1 of the World Cup. Two teams each will qualify from Group A and B. The qualification round for Group A will be played in Oman and will include eight teams. 

The eight teams will be split into two groups of 1 and 2 with four teams each. Bahrain, Germany, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates are drafted in Group 1 while Canada, Nepal, Oman and the Philippines are placed in Group 2. Two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals and eventually, the finalists will make it to the World cup. 

The Group B qualifiers will be held in Zimbabwe from July 8 to 18 and eight teams will participate in that as well. The team in Group B include hosts Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Uganda and United States and all these would again be divided into two groups. 

Ireland Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 Qualifier  

Andy Balbirnie (capt), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Shane Getkate, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young

Travelling Reserves: Neil Rock and Ben White

  • Harry Tector
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • IRE
  • OMA

Share News On

Read Next

More News