BAN vs SL 2022 | SLC name 18-man squad for Bangladesh Test series

Saunak Nag

| May 4, 3:16 PM

news image

Sri Lanka has announced an 18-man squad for Bangladesh's Test tour, commencing on May 15. The first Test is scheduled to take place in Chittagong, while the second game will be contested in Dhaka from May 23.

The clash will be a part of the ICC World Test Championship for the 2021-23 cycle. As far as the Lankans are concerned, they are currently placed fifth in the points table, with a win percentage of 50%. Their last Test outing was not something they wished for. They suffered a 2-nil away series defeat to India in March. On the other hand, Bangladesh has managed to win only one Test in the 2021-2023 period so far. 

The Lankan Lions will have several key players missing their trip to Bangladesh. Pacer Dushmantha Chameera, who is currently playing for the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the Indian Premier League (IPL), will not be a part of the team. Batter Roshen Silva has also taken his name out from the travelling squad. Suranga Lakmal, who announced his retirement after the tour of India, will also not be available for selection. 

The team will leave for Bangladesh on May 8. Here is a look at the squads of the two teams:

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (Captain), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya



Mominul Haque (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Kumar Das, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Shohidul Islam, Shoriful Islam (subject to fitness).

Share News On