Anurag Dasgupta ∙ May 26 2023, 8:53 AM

What If... MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma Collide in IPL 2023 Final?

image-li4bm9j4MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma []

MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma, two of the biggest names in the history of Indian Premier League. One captain has 4 IPL trophies under his belt, while the other one leads the charts with 5 as the skipper of his side.

Whenever Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have squared off in the IPL, it has created a lot of buzz amongst the fans. Interestingly, there is a possible chance that both the teams will battle it out for the coveted IPL trophy this season. 

The MS Dhoni led CSK side have already reached the finals, and if Mumbai defeat Gujarat Titans in the Qualifier 2, we may get a chance to witness a historic battle between two iconic captains - MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma.

So, the big question is - what if the two iconic leaders go toe-to-toe in the IPL 2022 final?

1) It will blow away the internet

CSK and MI have combined won 9 IPL titles, and are arguably the two most popular franchises in world cricket. Moreover, there is a high-chance that the ongoing season could be the last time fans witness MS Dhoni in the Yellow jersey. Whenever the two teams have met in the IPL finals, we have witnessed cracker of a contest, and expect the same if the battle happens once again on May 28.

The viewership will skyrocket and it will blow away the internet, and everyone will go ga-ga over the two legendary overs. Who wants to miss MS Dhoni vs Rohit Sharma for perhaps the one last time?

2) One last iconic battle

CSK and MI have played against each other 36 times, with Mumbai having the edge with 20 wins. Each of their contest has provided thrilling moments, and with both the players in the twilight of their careers, especially MS Dhoni, this may well be the last time the two captain's will meet against each other. 

This could be a fitting fairwell for MSD, if he wins the title on Sunday. MS Dhoni and CSK won their first IPL title against Mumbai in 2010, and the legendary CSK leader can bow out after winning his fifth title against the same opposition.