Anurag Dasgupta ∙ Mar 26 2023, 5:24 PM

Kohli, Rohit in A+ Category as BCCI Announces Annual Player Contracts

image-lfpo1nm3Rohit and Virat are placed in A+ category [Twitter]

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the Annual Player Contracts for the men's team for the 2022-23 season.

As expected, the senior players like Virat Kohli, and Rohit Sharma retain the top position and are in the A+ category.

BCCI has categorised pay structure in four categories. 

Grade A+: INR 7 crore

Grade A: INR 5 crore

Grade B: INR 3 crore

Grade C: INR 1 crore

Apart from Kohli and Rohit, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja make the cut in the A+ category. These four players generally play in all formats and have been rewarded accordingly with the top-ranked category.

In the A bracket, there are five players named - Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Mohammad Shami and Axar Patel. Axar has cemented his place in the Indian side in the last year and has been duly rewarded by the board.

Six players make the cut in the B category. Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Mohammed Siraj, Suryakumar Yadav and Shubman Gill.

The last category, comprises of 11 players. Mainly - Yuzvendra Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Sanju Samson, Arshdeep Singh and KS Bharat.

The contract period lasts from October 2022 - September 2023.