Arjun Bhalla ∙ Jan 30 2023, 10:24 AM

Cricket Australia names Marcus Stoinis, Tahlia McGrath T20I Players for 2022

image-ldin1wohStoinis with India's Virat Kohli (Twitter)

As more awards get unveiled at Cricket Australia Awards, maestro all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and upcoming talent Tahlia McGrath have been named the T20I Players of the Year for 2022 by the Australian board.

Apart from Stoinis, the other nominees for Cricket Australia's T20I Players of the Year were the premier seamer Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade. The seamer lost to Stoinis by one vote, while Maxwell and Wade were the joint third on the list.

In a year when Australia hosted the T20 World Cup defending their triumph, the 33-year-old emerged as the only hope for them in a rather mediocre year. 

The Perth-born played 16 T20I matches in 2022, smashing 357 runs and scalping 16 wickets. He had his best outing against Sri Lanka in a do-or-die T20 World Cup, where he smacked one of the best knocks - 59* off just 18 balls.

McGrath, on the other hand, also had one dashing year with both bat and ball, but her efforts didn't go in vain as the Australian women's team was unstoppable in 2022. 

In just her second year in T20I cricket, she amassed 435 runs at an average of 62.14 and a strike rate of 145.00. Apart from that, she also scalped 13 wickets with her medium-pace bowling. 

Her efforts translated into Australia winning the Commonwealth Games, Birmingham.

The 27-year-old's other competitors were Beth Mooney and Ashleigh Gardner, but McGrath finished far ahead of them in the race. 

Cricket Australia has also named the Test Cricketer of the Year, ODI Players of the Year, Domestic Player of the Year and the prestigious Bradman Young Cricketer. 

Read More: David Warner, Beth Mooney bag Cricket Australia's ODI Player of the Year Awards