Saurabh Saket ∙ Jan 24 2023, 10:27 AM

Rishabh Pant only Indian present as ICC announce Test team of the Year

image-lda2y5ovRishabh Pant is the only Indian player in the list announced by ICC (Source: Twitter)

ICC have announced their Men's Test team of the year for 2022 and to no one's surprise only one Indian player made made his mark in the playing eleven. 

Indian wicketkeeper batter Rishabh Pant who had a great run in the red-ball format this season for the national outfit joins the likes of Ben Stokes, Usman Khawaja amongst others.

The side is led by English skipper Ben Stokes who enjoyed a tremendous run for the national side this season winning nine games this season. Stokes hit two centuries and 870 runs during the year, at an average of 36.25 down at number six. The all-rounder also played an important role with the ball picking up 26 wickets.

Usman Khawaja had a remarkable season with the bat this season for the Aussies. Although his form tailed off slightly, Khawaja still hit three further half-centuries in 2022, to finish the year with 1080 runs to his name and an average of 67.50.

India’s keeper-batter enjoyed another stunning year with the bat, hitting 680 runs from 12 innings at an average of 61.81 and a strike rate of 90.90.

Two centuries and four fifties in the year only tells half the story, with the destructive nature of Pant’s batting help add impetus to his team’s innings throughout the year. He smashed 21 sixes in Tests in 2022, and was decent with the gloves too – producing six stumpings and taking 23 catches.

However, it may be some time before we see Pant in Test action again however, with the 25-year-old still recovering from the injuries he sustained in a serious car crash just two days before the end of the year.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2022: Usman Khawaja, Kraigg Brathwaite, Marnus Labuschagne, Babar Azam, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Pat Cummins, Kagiso Rabada, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson 

Also Read: Two Indians included as ICC announces ODI team of 2022