Debashis Sarangi ∙ Jan 20 2023, 3:35 AM

IND-W vs SA-W: Deepti Sharma's all-round masterclass helps India maul South Africa

image-ld3ymdkbIndia Women [Source: Twitter]

Riding on Deepti Sharma's sensational all-round effort, India Women handed a 27-run defeat to their South African counterparts in the first T20I of the Tri-series. The Women in Blue opened their account in the points table with this commanding victory. 

Deepti-Amanjot stand powers India to 147

After being put into bat, India Women had a disastrous start to their innings, losing Smriti Mandhana, Harleen Deol, Jemimah Rodrigues and Devika Vaidya for single-digit scores. 

Yastika Bhatia played a gutsy 35-run knock, but the visitors looked all set for a sub-par total once she was cleaned up by Delmi Tucker. 

However, Deepti Sharma and debutant Amanjot Kaur executed a commendable resurrection, adding a counterattacking 76-run stand for the sixth wicket. While Deepti got out for a quick-fire 23-ball 33, Kaur remained unbeaten on 41*, laced with seven glorious boundaries. 

Nonkululeko Mlaba emerged as South Africa's best bowler, scalping two wickets for 15 runs. 

Also Read: Mitchell Marsh hoping to recover in time for the Border-Gavaskar series

Indian spinners run riot as Proteas fall short

Chasing 148, South Africa had a forgettable start, as Deepti Sharma and Rajeshwari Gayakwad got the better of Laura Wolvaardt and Anneke Bosch for six and two runs, respectively. 

The experienced duo of Marizanne Kapp and Sune Luus tried to steady the ship, but Devika Vaidya spoiled their plan, dismissing the former for a run-a-ball 22. 

Luus and Chloe Tryon contributed 29 and 26, respectively, but the other Proteas batters disappointed, as the hosts were finally restricted to 120 for nine in 20 overs. 

Deepti Sharma was India's pick of the bowlers, claiming three wickets for 30 runs. Devika Vaidya scalped two, while Gayakwad, Sneh Rana and Radha Yadav picked one wicket apiece. 

Brief Scores

India Women: 147/6 (20)
Amanjot Kaur 41* (30), Yastika Bhatia 35 (34);
N Mlaba 2/15 (3), Delmi Tucker 1/14 (2)

South Africa Women: 120/9 (20)
Sune Luus 29 (30), Chloe Tryon 26 (20);
Deepti Sharma 3/30 (4), Devika Vaidya 2/19 (3)

India Women won by 27 runs. 

Also Read: Bernadine Bezuidenhout features in New Zealand's T20 World Cup squad