Aakash Saini ∙ Jan 4 2023, 2:00 PM

Chetan Sharma likely to continue as chairman of the selection committee

image-lchhio0cChetan Sharma in 2021 (BCCI)

Following India’s disastrous semi-final exit from the 2022 T20 World Cup, the BCCI sacked the entire national selection committee, including chairman and former speedster Chetan Sharma

A month later in December, he reapplied for the post alongside fellow ex-member Harvinder Singh.

As it emerges, the former speedster is likely to continue as chairman of the selection committee.

BCCI re-thinks post T20 World Cup 2022 strategy

A total of 13 applicants, including Sharma, were interviewed by the BCCI to helm the national selection committee. As it turns out, the ex-Indian cricketer is set to retain his post after being asked to re-apply for the job interview by the Indian board.

Harvinder Singh is also one of the frontrunners to keep his position from Central Zone.

Former Indian opener Shiv Sundar Das (East Zone) is another candidate likely to be appointed to the selection panel. Sridharan Sharath, who played for Tamil Nadu, and is currently heading the national junior selection committee, might join Das as one of the members.

Former cricketers Salil Ankola and Connor Williams, meanwhile, have been called in by the BCCI for the interviews for the fifth selector’s post from West Zone. The aforementioned position has remained vacant ever since Abey Kuruvilla left the role to become the general manager of the BCCI.

ALSO READ | Former members Chetan Sharma and Harvinder Singh re-apply for post in BCCI selection panel: Reports