Vishal Mehra ∙ Nov 16 2022, 10:07 AM

Ireland Women clinch historic T20I series win in Pakistan 

image-lajh0pheIreland won the T20I series 2-1 [Source: Twitter]

With the series locked at 1-1, Ireland Women took on Pakistan Women in the third and final T20I in Lahore on Wednesday morning. Batting first, Ireland posted 167 runs, courtesy of Gaby Lewis's 71. 

Despite the best efforts of former skipper Javeria Khan, Pakistan were pegged down by exceptional bowling from Arlene Kelly and Laura Delany, who claimed three wickets apiece to hand Ireland a 34-run win and therefore clinch the series 2-1.

This was Ireland's first-ever men's or women's series win on sub-continental soil. They had earlier lost the three-match One-Day International (ODI) to Pakistan 0-3.

Gaby Lewis' run-riot

Irish openers Lewis and Amy Hunter came out all guns blazing, taking apart the Pakistani bowling attack. The pair added 110 runs in swift time, with Lewis doing most of the scoring.

​Lewis registered her ninth T20I fifty in just 26 deliveries.

Nashra Sandhu rattled Hunter's woodwork, who missed out on a well-deserved fifty, getting out for 40. Ghulam Fatima got the better of Lewis, not long before the young Irish star smashed 71 runs, which included 11 fours and one six.

Orla Predergast continued her onslaught, making a quick-fire 37 off 23, only to be run out on the final delivery of the Ireland innings.

Rebecca Stokell remained unbeaten on 17*.

Kelly and Delany derail Pakistan batters

In reply, Pakistan lost their opener, Sidra Ameen quickly handing Jane Maguire her first wicket. Javeria displayed grit and resolve where other batters faulted. Both Kelly and skipper Delany rocked Pakistan's middle order.

Recipient of ICC Player of the Month for October, Nida Dar supported Javeria for a while, but she too fell for 26. Unfortunately, captain Bismah Maroof ran herself out for 6.

Kelly did the cleanup work for her side, snapping the Pakistani tail. Javeria recorded her tenth T20I fifty but soon found herself bowled by Maguire for 51.

Irish captain Delany picked up two wickets in her final over to fold Pakistan's innings on 133.

Brief scores

Ireland Women 167 - 4 (20)

Gaby Lewis 71 (46), Amy Hunter 40 (35);

Nida Dar 1- 27 (4), Ghulam Fatima 1 - 34 (4)

Pakistan Women 133 (18.5)

Javeria Khan 50 (37), Nida Dar 26 (24);

Arlene Kelly 3 -19 (3), Laura Delany 3 -20 (2.5)

Ireland won by 34 runs and clinch series 2 - 1 

Also Read: WBBL 2022: du Preez' fifty helps Hurricanes beat Stars