Yash Mittal ∙ Oct 3 2022, 2:15 PM

SA20 inaugural season to get underway from January 10, 2023

image-l8suflnuSA20 [Image Credit- Twitter]

The inaugural season of Cricket South Africa's SA20 will get underway on January 10, 2023.

According to a report published in ESPNCricinfo, the six-team tournament will consist of 33 games.

The format of the tournament is akin to the one followed in the Indian Premier League, where teams play each other twice in the league stage in a home-away format.

However, the knockout stage will be a traditional one as compared to the IPL, with two semi-finals deciding the eventual finalists, and not the playoffs.

Here's what former South African spinner and MI Cape Town General Manager said:

"The SA20 is going to have a massive impact on South African cricket," he said. "It is going to revolutionise the game in our country and if used correctly and to its full potential. 

It will be an exciting competition. Being on the ground working at domestic level, there is a certain level of excitement from cricketers that there is a league within our own country."

SA20 teams are owned by IPL franchises

For the uninitiated, each of the six teams in SA20 are owned by the Indian Premier League franchises.

Each of the six teams will comprise a 17-member squad, the auctions for which were recently held.

Also Read- Matthew Maynard: Glamorgan promotion to Division One 'not far away'