Arnav Chopra ∙ Sep 14 2022, 9:45 AM

Mahmudullah misses out as Bangladesh announce T20 World Cup Squad

image-l81fr82bBangladesh announces World Cup Squad (PC: Twitter)

After missing out on the Super Four berth in the Asia Cup, Bangladesh have announced their squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup in Australia. Mahmudullah Riyad, whose T20 career was hanging on a tightrope after a dip in form, is a significant omission from the setup.

Recently appointed skipper Shakib Al Hasan has retained his position, along with other senior members of the squad. Mushfiqur Rahim, who said goodbye to the format after their early exit from the Asia Cup, has been replaced by keeper-batter Litton Das.

Yasir Ali and Nurul Hasan have also returned to the squad, along with Najmul Hossain Shanto and Hasan Mahmud, who were earlier missing out. However, the team will not feature Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan and Mohammad Naim, who didn't live up to the expectations and expectedly have faced the axe.

Furthermore, Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar will travel with the squad as reserves.

The same squad for the Tigers will be touring New Zealand for a Tri-series, scheduled to begin from October 7, involving Pakistan as the third team. 

Bangladesh Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Shakib Al Hasan (C), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Litton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan Sohan (VC), Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nasum Ahmed

Standby players: Shoriful Islam, Rishad Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar

Also Read: Cricket Australia reveals new indigenous jersey for T20 World Cup 2022