Probuddha Bhattacharjee ∙ Sep 12 2022, 5:00 AM

Asia Cup 2022: Team of the Tournament

image-l7xr9d9qSri Lanka won the Asia Cup 2022 (PC: Twitter)

The Asia Cup 2022 has reached its culmination with Sri Lanka emerging as the champions. There have been some memorable performances in the tournament. 

While debutants like Naseem Shah impressing everybody,  and veterans like Virat Kohli displaying their class, let us take a look at the best eleven players of the tournament. 


image-l7xru1vfMohammad Rizwan was the mainstay of the Pakistan batting order in the tournament (PC: Twitter)

Mohammad Rizwan (WK) (PAK)

Mohammad Rizwan has displayed impeccable consistency in the 15th edition of the Asia Cup. He has scored 281 runs in the tournament at an RPI of 46.83. Rizwan will also be the wicket keeper in this team. 

Pathum Nissanka (SL)

Pathum Nissanka peaked at the right time in the tournament and played two valuable knocks against India and Pakistan in the Super Four. He has scored a total of 173 runs in the tournament at an RPI of 28.83. He is the second opener of the eleven. 

Middle Order

image-l7xrd7e4Virat Kohli displayed supreme class during the Asia Cup (PC: Twitter)

Virat Kohli (IND)

Virat Kohli was back to his best in the tournament. He scored 276 runs in the tournament at an RPI of 55.20. Definitely the go to number 3 for the team of the tournament. He had the only century in the tournament and also the highest score in an innings of the tournament (122* vs Afghanistan).

Ibrahim Zadran (AFG)

Ibrahim Zadran has displayed brilliant consistency in the tournament at number four for Afghanistan. He has scored 196 runs in the tournament at a RPI of 39.2. The number four for the team.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa (SL)

Rajapaksa has scored 191 runs in the tournament at an RPI of 31.83. He played some crucial little knocks for his team throughout the tournament, but his effort of 71* off 45 balls in the final was special and a match winning one. Hence, he becomes the automatic choice at number 5.

All Rounders

image-l7xrjpfpDasun Shanaka led a young Sri Lankan team to title win (PC: Twitter)

Dasun Shanaka (C) (SL)

Dasun Shanaka has scored 111 runs in the tournament and has picked up 2 wickets in the tournament. A decent performance, but he makes his way into the team because of the way he has led the team. A team that was considered the underdogs in the tournament won the title under his leadership. Besides, his contribution in the team performance as a whole has been better than the other skippers in the tournament.

Mohammad Nawaz (PAK)

Mohammad Nawaz has impressed everybody with his performance with both the bat and the ball. With the ball he picked up 8 wickets in the tournament, while with the bat he played a vital knock of 42 runs from 20 balls against India in the Super Four clash. 

Wanindu Hasaranga (SL)

Wanindu Hasaranga has been the go to man for Sri Lanka during the middle overs bowling. With his match winning performance in the final with both the bat and the ball he is a certain inclusion in the team. Speaking of his performance in the tournament, he picked up 9 wickets in 6 matches and played a valuable knock of 36 runs off 21 balls in the final.


image-l7xrma98Naseem Shah impressed everyone with his new ball exploits (PC: Twitter)

Naseem Shah (PAK)

Naseem Shah has been the most impressive of the pace bowlers in the tournament. With 7 wickets to his name, he is surely the first choice pacer of the team. 

Arshdeep Singh (IND) 

Well Arshdeep Singh might not have the numbers to back him. He picked up only 5 wickets in 5 matches in the tournament. But the maturity and nerve that he displayed in the pressure situations earns him a spot in the team. 

Mujeeb ur Rahman (AFG)

Mujeeb turned out to be the trump card for Afghanistan in the tournament. In the 5 matches that he played he picked up 7 wickets. He bowled the hard overs in the power plays and has been an economical presence of that. The brilliant show earns him a place in the team.  

Also Read: SL vs PAK: Sri Lanka decimate Pakistan by 23 runs to clinch the trophy