Shivani Shukla
Shivani Shukla
Author ∙ Aug 18 2022, 1:45 PM

Team India outclass Zimbabwe by 10 wickets to draw first blood in ODI series

image-l6z2o0oqShubman Gill and Shikhar Dhawan | Source: Twitter

A clinical bowling performance followed by solid batting helped team India annihilate Zimbabwe by 10 wickets in the first ODI to go 1-0 up in the three-match series.


The visitors, on the back of their disciplined bowling, bowled out Zimbabwe for 189 in 40.3 overs. The Men in Blue scaled down the total without breaking a sweat in 30.5 overs with 10 wickets in hand.

Chasing 190, openers Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill sent a lacklustre Zimbabwe bowling attack on a leather hunt, amassing a match-winning opening stand of unbeaten 192. 

While Dhawan mustered 81* off 113, Gill remained not out for 82 from 72 deliveries. 

Deepak Chahar recorded best ODI figures 

image-l6z2l0icDeepak Chahar, on his return to the Indian team after an injury, picked up 3 for 27

Zimbabwe after being put to bat first didn't get the kind of start they would have dreamt. They lost the cream of their top order batting in quick succession and were slumped to 3/31 in 9.2 overs.  

Skipper Regis Chakabva looked good with the blade, however, he was cleaned up for 35 – the highest score of Zimbabwe's inning. 

Ryan Burl and Sikandar Raza looked rusty as well, scoring just 11 and 12 respectively. The home side was reeling at 8-110 in 28.3 overs and even 150 looked unapproachable. 

However, Brad Evans (29-ball 33) and Richard Ngarava (42-ball 34) turned the tables and notched up an impetus 70-run stand for the ninth wicket to propel their side to a fighting total and provide their team with some glimmer of hope.

For India, Deepak Chahar delivered an impeccable show with the ball and returned with his best ODI figures of 3/27. Apart from Chahar, Axar Patel and Prasidh Krishna also bagged three wickets each. 

Brief Scores:

Zimbabwe: 189/10 (40.3 Overs) 

Regis Chakabva 35 (51), Brad Evans 33 (29)*; Deepak Chahar 3-27 (7), Axar Patel 3-24 (7.3) 

India: 192/0 (30.5 Overs) 

Shubman Gill 82 (72)*, Shikhar Dhawan 81 (113)*

India won by 10 wickets. 

Also Read: Spotlight: Moeen Ali, BPH vs NOS, Match Analysis, Fantasy Tips, Dream11 Prediction