Shivani Shukla ∙ Aug 12 2022, 4:00 AM

Ton-up Rohan Patil steers Gulbarga Mystics to 9-wicket win over Mysore

Riding on Rohan Patil's sensational century, Gulbarga Mystics swatted aside Mysore Warriors by nine wickets in the tenth match of the ongoing Maharaja T20 Trophy on Thursday. 

The move to promote Rohan Patil at the top replacing, Devdutt Padikkal, worked wonders for the Manish Pandey-led outfit. Chasing 161, Patil set the temperatures soaring at the Mysore Stadium as the Southpaw went on to stack 112 runs from 47 deliveries and remained unbeaten till the end.

KL Shrijith, at the other end, peeled off 46* off 29 as Gulbarga Mystics chased down the target in just 14.1 overs without breaking a sweat.

From the Warriors' bowling front, barring Shubhang Hegde and Pavan Deshpande, all others were taken to the cleaners. 

Earlier, Pavan Deshpande (30-ball 41) and Naga Bharath (39-ball 35) played valuable knocks to help the Warriors reach a competitive total of 160 at the end of the first inning.

Invited to bat, Nihal Ullal (27) forged a 45-run stand for the opening wicket with Karun Nair (18) to provide a steady start to the team.

The late flourish by Shivraj Singh Khenwar (17* off 9) ensured that the Warriors crossed the 150-run mark by the end of the inning.

It was the second straight win for the Gulbarga Mystics in three matches. Currently, they occupy the fourth spot in the points rankings. On the other hand, Mysore Warriors are placed third in the table with two victories and as many defeats.  

Brief Scores

Mysore Warriors: 160/4 (19)

Pavan Deshpande 41 (30), Naga Bharath 35 (39);
Manoj Bhandage 1/18 (3), C Ajit Karthik 1/28 (4)

Gulbarga Mystics: 162/1 (14.1)

Rohan Patil 112* (47), Krishnan Shrijith 46* (29);
Shubhang Hegde 1/22 (3)

Gulbarga Mystics won by nine wickets.

Also Read: The Women's Hundred 2022: Winfield-Hill stars as Invincibles beat Superchargers by 9 wickets