• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Bbl 12 Final Turner Keeps His Calm As Scorchers Win Fifth Bbl Title

Perth Scorchers crowned BBL champions for the fifth time

image-ldpxq4kcTurner scored a brilliant 53 [Twitter]

In a topsy-turvy grand finale, Ashton Turner kept his cool and steered Perth Scorchers to yet another Big Bash League title on Saturday.

This was their fifth BBL title, but it didn't came easily as the team from Perth had to toil hard for it. At one point, they looked down and out, but Turner's majestic 53 turned the game on its head and propelled the Scorchers to a 5-wicket win the finals.

Key moments from the game

Behrendorff turns the tide

Brisbane Heat got off to a solid start, with openers Josh Brown 25 (12), and Sam Heazlett 34 (30) laying a strong foundation for the middle order batters to capitalise on. 

Scorchers needed something special, and Jason Behrendorff did just that. Despite the wicket of Brown, Heat continued the aggressive momentum, but Behrendorff's twin strike of Heazlett and Jimmy Peirson changed the momentum of the game.

Both the batters departed in the same over and Scorchers turned the game on its head. 

Max Bryant special takes Heat to 175

There was a mini middle order collapse, and it looked as if the Heat will finish on a below par total. But Max Bryant had some other ideas. He blasted a quick-fire 14-ball 31, laced with three huge sixes to propel them to a healthy 175.

Scorchers' top-4 lays a strong foundation

Chasing 176 is never easy in a final, but the Scorchers top four batters - Stephen Eskinazi (21), Cameron Bancroft (15), Aaron Hardie (17), Josh Inglis (22) all got a solid start, but every-time a partnership was built, Heat pulled things back with a wicket.

This all changed with the arrival of Ashton Turner.

Turner takes Scorchers past victory line

Scorchers needed something special to win this contest, and Turner provided fireworks for the spectators present in the stadium. In an innings where he hardly mistimed anything, Turner used his game awareness and pierced the gap to perfection. The Scorchers skipper led from the front, and smoked a blistering 32-ball 53, at a strike-rate of 165.6

The finishing touches was provided by Nick Hobson, who smashed a 7-ball 18 and made Scorchers the champions of the BBL once again.

For his scintillating performance, Turner was adjudged the Player of the Match.

Also Read: Cameron Green makes a 'late push' for inclusion in Nagpur Test