• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Ban Vs Afg Taskin Ahmed Picks Four As Ban Claim Record Win In 4 Day Result

BAN vs AFG | Taskin Ahmed Picks Four As BAN Claim Record Win In 4-Day Result

image-lizosuy6Shoriful Islam celebrates a wicket with teammates (Twitter)

Bangladesh new-ball duo Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam skittled out the visiting Afghans within the opening session of Day 4 to claim a record Test win. Hosts number three batter Najmul Hossain Shanto was fittingly adjudged as ‘Player of the Match’ for his twin centuries in the one-off Test.

Afghanistan crumbles at 115 to hand BAN big win

Resuming the penultimate day at 45-2, Afghanistan lost Nasim Jamal early for just six. The visitors failed to form any noteworthy partnership in their big pursuit, as wickets at regular intervals ensured their run-chase perished at 115.

Rahmat Shah top-scored in the innings with a mere 30, while captain Hashmatullah Shahidi (13) and Karim Janat (18) were the only other batters to go beyond the single digits.

Bangladesh speed veteran Taskin Ahmed, who went wicketless in the first innings, snared four in the second to register his best bowling figures in Tests. He was assisted by his new ball partner Shoriful Islam, who picked three in the run-chase to finish with a five-wicket match-haul.

The hosts eventually won the one-off affair with a record margin of 546 runs, i.e., their biggest win in Tests and third biggest overall in the formats near 150-year history.

The two sides will now collide in a three-match ODI series and a two-game T20I tussle across Chittagong and Sylhet between July 5 and July 16. The white-ball series serves as a testing ground for both teams ahead of the 2023 World Cup in India later this year.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh: 382 all out (86)
Najmul Hossain Shanto 146 (175), Mahmudul Hasan Joy 76 (137)
Nijat Masood 5-79 (16), Yamin Ahmadzai 2-39 (10)

Afghanistan: 146 all out (39)
Afsar Zazai 36 (40), Nasir Jamal 35 (43)
Ebadot Hossain 4-47 (10), Taijul Islam 2-7 (5)

Bangladesh: 425-4d (80)
Najmul Hossain Shanto 124 (151), Mominul Haque 121* (145)
Zahir Khan 2-112 (23), Amir Hamza 1-90 (16.1)

Afghanistan: 115 all out (33)
Rahmat Shah 30 (73), Karim Janat 18 (18)
Taskin Ahmed 4-37 (9), Shoriful Islam 3-28 (10)

Bangladesh won by 546 runs