• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Aus W Vs Pak W Perry Schutt Star As Australia Demolish Pakistan

 Megan Schutt and Ellyse Perry star for Australia as hosts take 1-0 lead

image-ld9tibjySchutt picked up a fifer [Source: Twitter]

The first T20I of the three-match series between hosts Australia and Pakistan, witnessed the home side notch up a comfortable win thanks to Megan Schutt and Ellyse Perry's outstanding performance, and take a 1-0 lead. 

Megan Schutt 5-for down's Pakistan

Opting to bat first, Pakistan openers Muneeba Ali and Javeria Khan lasted just 5 overs, as both fell to Ellyse Perry for 8 and 16, respectively. It was all Megan Schutt's show post that. The pacer claimed Pakistan captain Bismah Maroof for 1, and got the better of youngster Sadaf Shamas for 0. 

Leg-spinner Alana King chipped in two wickets as well. Ayesha Naseem and Omaima Sohail provided some resistance adding 37 runs before the latter got out to Schutt.

It was all downhill for Pakistan, losing four wickets for just 24 runs, to bundle out for 118.

Schutt's claimed her maiden T20I five-wicket haul, and thus became the fourth Australian Woman to claim five wickets in a 20-over game.

Ellyse Perry guides Australia to comfortable win

Chasing 119 to win, Perry and skipper Lanning came out to open the batting. While Lanning perished for 14, Perry launched an attack with the bat. 

She along with Tahlia McGrath added 36 runs for the second wicket. Pakistan's star performer on this tour, Nida Dar struck soon, cleaning up McGrath for 14.

Ashleigh Gardner joined Perry in the middle, as the pair added 50 runs in 30 balls.

Perry reached her seventh T20I fifty in 36 deliveries, as Australia chased down the target with eight wickets in hand and six overs to spare. 

The second T20I will be played on Friday.

Brief Scores

Pakistan Women - 118 all out (20)

Omaima Sohail 30 (36), Ayesha Naseen 24 (20);

Megan Schutt 5-15 (4), Ellyse Perry 2-3 (2).

Australia Women - 119/2 (13.4)

Ellyse Perry 57* (40) ; Ashleigh Gardner 30* (19)

Nida Dar 1-17 (2) , Sadia Iqbal 1-31 (3)

Australia won by 8 wickets

Also Read: 'Women's IPL is going to change women's cricket for the better'- Alyssa Healy