Kolkata Knight Riders Squad 2024

Kolkata Knight Riders last won the IPL in 2014 (Twitter)Kolkata Knight Riders last won the IPL in 2014 (Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), with their electrifying performances and a passionate following, have etched a prominent place in the heart of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Co-owned by Bollywood icon Shah Rukh Khan, alongside actress Juhi Chawla and businessman Jay Mehta, KKR has Eden Gardens in Kolkata as its fortress.

With two IPL titles under their belt, KKR has experienced a rollercoaster journey, displaying moments of brilliance interspersed with periods of challenge. In recent years, KKR hasn’t been able to replicate their past performances, eluding them from getting their hands on the IPL title for almost a decade.

However, as we edge closer to the IPL 2024 season, Kolkata Knight Riders are all set to unleash a formidable combination of seasoned veterans and talented young stars. This combination aims to propel them back into the limelight and vie for the coveted title once more. Ahead of the tournament, here’s a look at the Kolkata Knight Riders squad list 2024.

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad List 2024

Shreyas IyerBatter₹ 12.25 crore
Andre RussellAll-Rounder₹ 12 crore
Sunil NarineAll-Rounder₹ 6 crore
Nitish RanaAll-Rounder₹ 8 crore
Venkatesh IyerAll-Rounder₹ 8 crore
Varun ChakravarthyBowler₹ 8 crore
Phil Salt (R)Batter₹ 1.5 crore
Rinku SinghBatter₹ 55 lakh
Rahmanullah GurbazBatter & Wicket-keeper₹ 50 lakh
Anukul RoyAll-Rounder₹ 20 lakh
Harshit RanaBowler₹ 20 lakh
Vaibhav AroraBowler₹ 9.2 crore
Suyash SharmaBowler₹ 20 lakh
Mitchell StarcBowler₹ 24.75 crore
Sherfane RutherfordBatter₹ 1.5 crore
Mujeeb ur RahmanBowler₹ 2 crore
Gus AtkinsonBowler₹ 1 crore
Manish PandeyBatter₹ 50 lakh
Chetan SakariyaBowler₹ 50 lakh
Srikar BharatBatter & Wicket-keeper₹ 50 lakh
Angkrish RaghuvanshiBatter₹ 20 lakh
Sakib HussainBowler₹ 20 lakh
Ramandeep SinghAll-Rounder
₹ 20 lakh

Kolkata Knight Riders Retained Players List 2024

Shreyas Iyer₹ 12.25 crore
Andre Russell₹ 12 crore
Sunil Narine₹ 6 crore
Nitish Rana₹ 8 crore
Venkatesh Iyer₹ 8 crore
Varun Chakravarthy₹ 8 crore
Phil Salt
₹ 1.5 crore
Rinku Singh₹ 55 lakh
Rahmanullah Gurbaz₹ 50 lakh
Anukul Roy₹ 20 lakh
Harshit Rana₹ 20 lakh
Vaibhav Arora₹ 9.2 crore
Suyash Sharma₹ 20 lakh

Kolkata Knight Riders Released Players List 2024

  • Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, Aarya Desai, David Wiese, Narayan Jagadeesan, Mandeep Singh, Kulwant Khejroliya, Shardul Thakur, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Johnson Charles.

Kolkata Knight Riders Captains

Tied/No Result
Winning Percentage
Sourav Ganguly2008-20102713140/048.14
Brendon McCullum2009-200913391/023.07
Gautam Gambhir2011-201712269
Jacques Kallis2011-20112110/050.00
Dinesh Karthik2018-20203719171/051.35
Eoin Morgan2022-20222411121/045.83
Shreyas Iyer2022-Present14680/042.85
Nitish Rana2023-20231468

Sourav Ganguly

Leading Kolkata Knight Riders for three seasons, Sourav Ganguly captained in 27 matches, securing 13 wins and 14 losses. With a winning percentage of 48.14%, Ganguly's leadership reflected a nearly balanced record of victories to defeats.

Brendon McCullum

Brendon McCullum's short stint as KKR captain in 2009 spanned 13 matches, where he achieved 3 wins and suffered 9 losses, with 1 match ending in a tie. His captaincy had a winning percentage of 23.07%, marking a challenging period for the team.

Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir's tenure as captain is noted for its length and success, overseeing 122 matches with 69 wins, 51 losses, and 1 no result, translating to a commendable winning percentage of 56.55%. Under his leadership, KKR clinched two IPL titles, making him the most successful captain in the franchise's history. Recently he was back in KKR as their new mentor.

Jacques Kallis

Jacques Kallis briefly captained KKR in 2 matches in 2011, achieving a balanced record of 1 win and 1 loss, resulting in a winning percentage of 50%.

Dinesh Karthik

Dinesh Karthik led the team in 37 matches, recording 19 wins and 17 losses, along with 1 tie. His winning percentage stood at 51.35%, showcasing a positive impact during his tenure as captain. However, he relinquished captaincy to focus on his batting.

Eoin Morgan

Eoin Morgan captained KKR in 24 matches, with 11 wins and 12 losses, and 1 tie, reflecting a winning percentage of 45.83%. His leadership was characterized by a slightly below 50% win rate.

Shreyas Iyer

Shreyas Iyer, leading the team in 2022 for 14 matches, ended with 6 wins and 8 losses. His captaincy saw a winning percentage of 42.85%, indicating a challenging season for KKR under his leadership. He missed the 2023 season due to an injury but is now back at the helm ahead of IPL 2024.

Nitish Rana

Nitish Rana also captained in 14 matches in 2023 in Iyer’s absence with 6 wins and 8 losses. His winning percentage of 42.85% suggests the team faced similar struggles during his captaincy as in the previous year.

Kolkata Knight Riders Coach

Former Indian cricketer, Chandrakant Pandit is the head coach of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). He is a revered figure in Indian cricket, known for his sharp cricketing mind and exceptional coaching skills. Pandit had a brief playing career as a wicketkeeper-batsman, featuring in both Test and ODI formats for India during the late 1980s where he played 5 Tests and 36 ODIs.

Transitioning from player to coach, Pandit has made a massive name for himself by transforming domestic teams into formidable units, with notable stints at Mumbai, Vidarbha, and Madhya Pradesh, leading them to multiple Ranji Trophy victories. His coaching philosophy, focused on discipline and a strong work ethic, has been instrumental in nurturing young talents and reviving the fortunes of the teams under his guidance.

Kolkata Knight Riders: FAQs

Q.1. Who is the head coach of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for IPL 2024?

Answer: Chandrakant Pandit is the head coach of KKR for the IPL 2024 season.

Q.2. How much did KKR spend in the IPL 2024 Auction?

Answer: KKR spent a total of Rs 31.35 crore at the IPL 2024 Auction.

Q.3. Who became the most expensive player in IPL history during the IPL 2024 Auction?

Answer: Mitchell Starc became the most expensive player of all time in IPL, bought by KKR for Rs 24.75 crore.

Q.4. How many players did KKR buy in the IPL 2024 Auction?

Answer: KKR bought a total of ten players in the IPL 2024 Auction.

Q.5. Who are some of the notable players KKR bought in the IPL 2024 Auction?

Answer: Notable players bought by KKR include Mitchell Starc, Mujeeb Rahman, Gus Atkinson and Manish Pandey.