PSL 2023, Match 20: LAH vs MUL | Fantasy Tips and Teams

image-leti67hdLAH vs MUL, Fantasy Tips and Predictions (Lahore Qalandars, Source: Twitter/@lahoreqalandars)

The Defending Champions Lahore Qalandars and the 2021 winners Multan Sultans gear up for another fixture of the ongoing eighth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) on a Super Saturday, March 04, 2023, at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. Match no.20 begins at 7.30 PM (IST) and 7.00 PM (local time). Notably, both sides clashed in last year's final, which Lahore won to clinch their maiden title. They also met in this season's opener, with the Qalandars defeating the Sultans in a thrilling encounter by just a one-run margin in Multan. 

For more Fantasy Tips and Predictions from OneCricket, click here.

Under the stewardship of pacer Shaheen Afridi, the Qalandars are enjoying another great season and are bossing the table. They have played six matches in the competition with five wins and just one loss. Their only defeat came at the hands of Karachi Kings by 67 runs, and since then, they have won 4 on the trot. With 10 points and a positive net run rate of +1.367, they occupy the no.1 position. (All scenarios till Match no.18)

Meanwhile, the runners-up of the last edition, the Sultans, are also having a great tournament. They have played six games with four wins and two losses under the captaincy of Mohammad Rizwan. As mentioned, they began their season with a loss against tomorrow's opponents, Lahore, by just one run before winning four on the bounce. The team faced a loss in their last encounter against Karachi Kings by 66 runs. With 8 points and an NRR of +0.844, they are below Lahore in the second spot in the table. (All scenarios till Match no.18)

Before the action begins, let us look at some of the important stats, best player picks and the best-predicted teams for the fantasy contests of the match.

Ground Stats: Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

The Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore is a high-scoring venue, with three out of the six innings producing above 200. The highest score of 241/3 this season was also achieved at this venue. Sides batting first have managed to win all three games in PSL 8.

Numbers on the ground (This Tournament)

Total Matches: 3
Matches won batting first: 3
Matches won batting second: 0

Average score batting first: 196
Average score batting second: 141

Average runs per over: 8.97
Average runs per wicket: 21.97

LAH vs MUL, Match 20, Head-to-Head

The finalists of last year's edition, Lahore Qalandars and Multan Sultans, have met each other 14 times in the history of PSL, and it's all even-stevens as both sides have registered seven victories each.

Head-to-Head (Overall)

Total Matches: 14
Lahore Qalandars won: 7
Multan Sultans won: 7

Head-to-Head (Last Season)

Total Matches: 4
Lahore Qalandars won: 2
Multan Sultans won: 2

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Probable Playing XIs

Lahore Qalandars Team News

No major updates

Lahore Qalandars Probable Playing XI

Mirza Baig, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan.

Multan Sultans Team News

No major updates

Multan Sultans Probable Playing XI

Shan Masood, Mohammad Rizwan (c & wk), Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Khushdil Shah, Carlos Brathwaite, Usama Mir, Anwar Ali, Akeal Hosein, Abbas Afridi, and Ihsanullah.

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Top Five Picks

  1. Fakhar Zaman (LAH): Southpaw Fakhar Zaman has struck the most runs for the Lahore Qalandars in this campaign. He is averaging 39.83 with two half-centuries. Zaman got out early in the last game against Quetta Gladiators for just four but will look to carry his good form in this fixture.
  2. Shaheen Afridi (LAH): Qalandars captain Shaheen Afridi has now gone two matches without any wicket to his name, which is a rarity. However, he is still his side's leading wicket-taker in PSL 8 and would hope to get back amongst the wickets from this contest.
  3. Sam Billings (LAH): Wicketkeeper batter Sam Billings is averaging 41.00 in 3 outings for the Qalandars this season. The middle-order batter registered scores of 47* and 33 in his first two games, as he looks like a good pick against the Sultans.
  4. Mohammad Rizwan (MUL): Captain and wicketkeeper batter Mohammad Rizwan is the highest run-scorer of this edition, with a century and three fifties also to his name. He is a proven T20 player and has been in red-hot form in this format over the past couple of years.
  5. Ihsanullah (MUL): Already a find of this tournament, young pacer Ihsanullah has picked up the most wickets so far than any other bowler in this edition of PSL. The seamer is an ideal pick considering his form.

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Must picks for the match

Lahore Qalandars

  1. Fakhar Zaman  - 239 runs in 6 innings
  2. Shaheen Afridi - 10 wickets in 6 innings
  3. Sam Billings - 82 runs in 3 innings

Multan Sultans

  1. Mohammad Rizwan - 358 runs in 6 innings
  2. Ihsanullah - 14 wickets in 6 innings
  3. David Miller - 107 runs in 4 innings

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Risky Picks

Lahore Qalandars: Mirza Baig, Hussain Talat

Multan Sultans: Rilee Rossouw, Usama Mir

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Best Captain and Vice-captain choices

  1. Fakhar Zaman (LAH)
  2. Shaheen Afridi (LAH)
  3. Mohammad Rizwan (MUL)

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Team for Head-to-Head Contests

Create and Participate with this team in the Cricket Exchange Fantasy App

image-lethre2i(Powered by Cricket Exchange)

Wicketkeepers: Sam Billings, Mohammad Rizwan
Batters: Fakhar Zaman, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Abdullah Shafique
All-rounders: Sikandar Raza, David Wiese
Bowlers: Ihsanullah, Usama Mir, Saheen Afridi

Captain: Mohammad Rizwan
Vice-captain: Ihsanullah

LAH: 6 Players, MUL: 5 Players

LAH vs MUL, Match 20: Team for Winner Takes All Contests

Create and Participate with this team in the Cricket Exchange Fantasy App

image-leti280l(Powered by Cricket Exhcange)

Wicketkeeper: Mohammad Rizwan
Batters: Rilee Rossouw, Shan Masood, Fakhar Zaman, M Tahir Baig
All-rounders: David Wiese, Sikandar Raza
Bowlers: Abbas Afridi, Ihsanullah, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi

Captain: Rilee Rossouw
Vice-captain: Fakhar Zaman

LAH: 6 Players, MUL: 5 Players