• Home
  • Breaking News
  • West Indies Announces Squad For Limited Overs Series Against South Africa

West Indies announces squad for limited-overs series against South Africa

image-lecyxcuiShannon Gabriel (Source: Twitter)

With ICC World Cup 2023 lingering on everyone's mind, the West Indies' side are on its way to settle their combination before the World Cup.

The Caribbean side is scheduled to tour the South African nation for three ODIs and as many T20Is that will be played from 16th March. And for that series, Cricket West Indies have announced the squads for both formats.

Pacer Shannon Gabriel returns to the ODI setup after previously featuring in the 2019 World Cup. His return to the national setup should be credited to his outstanding performances in the Super50 where he picked up 15 wickets in just seven matches.

Moreover, pacer Obed McCoy has been included in the T20I setup but his match selection will be based on his fitness report which will be availed later.

The most notable point, as previously announced is the appointment of Shai Hope and Rovman Powell as the new ODI and T20I captains, respectively. Further, Powell will be deputy in the ODI format whereas Kyle Mayers has been handed over the vice-captaincy in the shortest format.

What West Indies lead selector Dr Desmond Haynes said

“We have had some injuries to our fast-bowling pool so therefore we see Gabriel as an ideal fit heading into South Africa, and the surfaces we expect to play on. It is felt that we need someone to get those early wickets and he is the kind of bowler that can do that. Judging from his performances in the CG United Super50 Cup, he is potentially a wicket-taking option up front.”

West Indies ODI squad for South Africa series:

Shai Hope (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith

West Indies T20I squad for South Africa series:

Rovman Powell (Captain), Kyle Mayers (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith