• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy Tamil Nadu Becomes 1St Team In History To Post 500 Total In List A Cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Tamil Nadu becomes 1st team to post 500+ total in list A cricket

image-laqh4st9Tamil Nadu batter Narayan Jagdeeshan [Source: Associated Press]

On Monday, the match between Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh continues in a runs galore. Several records were broken throughout the innings as Tamil Nadu became the first team in history to post a 500+ total in List A Cricket.  

Narayan Jagadeesan lit the stage with fireworks as he went on to play a blazing knock of 277 runs, including 25 fours and 15 sixes. 

Records galore

Before Tamil Nadu, England held the record for the highest total in a List A game (498) runs in an ODI against Netherlands. 

Jagadeesan became the batter to have the highest individual score in List A cricket, surpassing Alistair Brown of Surrey (268) against Glamorgan in 2002. 

Along the way, Jagadeesan and his opening partner Sai Sudharshan scored a 416 run partnership in 38.3 overs, the highest-ever in the history of List A cricket.

Sudharsan was dismissed after playing a knock of 154 runs off 102 balls (19 fours and 2 sixes).

Jagadeesan also surpassed Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara and became the first player to register most number of consecutive centuries in List A cricket. He brought up his fifth consecutive century in the tournament, outdoing players like Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devdutt Padikkal who scored 4 centuries each. 

Also Read:PAK vs ENG: Shaheen Afridi ruled out as Pakistan announce Test squad for England series