• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Trouble For India Ahead Of Wtc Final Speedster Leaves Ipl Camp To Get Examined
Arjun Bhalla ∙ Updated: May 1 2023, 8:45 PM | 2 Min Read

Trouble for India Ahead of WTC Final; Speedster Leaves IPL Camp to Get Examined

image-lh4y9jjeUnadkat with Mohammed Siraj & Umesh Yadav during BAN vs IND (Twitter)

Lucknow Super Giants have got hampered with a massive blow after left-arm seamer Jaydev Unadkat got injured during nets, which forced him to leave the IPL 2023 camp to get examined by specialist doctors in Mumbai. Unadkat's injury isn't just a bad news for his IPL franchise but also for Team India, as the pacer is scheduled to travel to England for the World Test Championship Final last month.

The 31-year-old seamer, who returned to India's Test squad after 12 years against Bangladesh last December, was named in India's 15-member unit to take on Australia at the Oval in June 2023.

However, before the much-anticipated clash against Bangalore, the domestic veteran slipped in his followthrough while bowling in the LSG nets. It is understood that Unadkat has injured his bowling shoulder.

The broadcaster showed the LSG's pacer slipping during the net session during the LSG versus RCB match, but both BCCI nor the franchise haven't informed anything about the pacer's injury.

Not just Unadkat but LSG's captain KL Rahul has also sustained an unfortunate injury: he pulled off his hamstring while running behind the ball during the clash between Lucknow and Bangalore on Monday. The physios took the India opener off the field, and the state of his injury is yet to be determined.

Unadkat, who has played three games for LSG this season - going wicketless in them, is part of India's pace-bowling quintet, comprising Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Shadul Thakur and the Saurashtra pacer.

India's Squad for WTC 2023 Final

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

The much-awaited WTC Final will be played between last cycle's runners-up and Australia from June 7-11.