T20 Blast 2022 | North Group Round-up | 24th June

Durham v/s Nottinghamshire

In a rain-curtailed encounter, Nottinghamshire Outlaws prevailed over Durham by two runs. 

Invited to bat first in the 11-overs a side match, the Outlaws lost wickets in a heap. However, Tom Moores (25 off 11) and Steven Mullaney (34 off 23) got them to 98, albeit losing nine wickets in the process.

Durham's chase did not begin on a solid note either as Graham Clark went back for 1. Opener Michael Alexander Jones did not get much support from the other end until the arrival of Ned Eckersley (24* off 13). However, their efforts were not enough as Daniel Christian defended 15 runs in the final over, as Durham fell short by two runs.

Brief Scores: 

Nottinghamshire: 98/9 in 11 overs 

Steven Mullaney 34*

Ben Raine 12/3, Brydon Carse 13/2

Durham: 96/5 in 11 overs 

Michael Alexander Jones 30*

Samit Patel 16/2

Nottinghamshire won by two runs.

Northamptonshire v/s Yorkshire

Yorkshire Vikings dealt a considerable blow to Northamptonshire Steelbacks' hopes of making the quarter-finals while propelling their chances. The Vikings recovered from a top-order failure and then depicted a top-notch bowling performance to thrash the opposition by 62 runs.

After being put in to bat, Yorkshire were reduced to 11/3. However, David Willey (31 off 24) and Harry Brook (67 off 31) resurrected the innings. Brook put on a stunning display of strokes as he smashed four fours and half-a-dozen sixes during his stay at the crease.

Matthew Waite's unbeaten 35 propelled the score to 190. Waite returned to dismantle the opposition with his bowling as he scalped three wickets. The Steelbacks got bundled out for 128, with no proper resistance from any player. 

Brief Scores: 

Yorkshire: 190/7 in 20 overs 

Harry Brook 67, Matthew Waite 35*

Graeme White 30/3

Northamptonshire: 128/10 in 16.2 overs 

Jimmy Neesham 26

Matthew Waite 18/3, Dominic Bess 25/2 

Yorkshire won by 62 runs.

Derbyshire v/s Lancashire

George Scrimshaw defended eleven runs in the match's final over after conceding 48 runs in his three overs. His heroics handed Derbyshire Falcons an improbable five-run win over Lancashire Lightning.

After Lancashire chose to field, Derbyshire were rocked early with Luis Reece's departure on 1. However, the in-form skipper, Shan Masood, played the anchor's role as he has done this season. He scored 75 off 50, with six fours and two sixes. 

Wayne Madsen played a breathtaking knock of 70 off just 31 deliveries. He displayed a range of shots and peppered the boundary ten times to go with his two sixes.

In reply, Lancashire were on course to scale the target. Valuable contributions from Steven Croft (47), Luke Wells (42), and Tim David (42*) kept them in the game. All these knocks came at a brisk pace. However, Scrimshaw's brilliance denied them an expected win.

Brief Scores: 

Derbyshire: 188/8 in 20 overs 

Shan Masood 75, Wayne Madsen 70

Richard Gleeson 45/3

Lancashire: 183/5 in 20 overs 

Steven Croft 47, Tim David 42*

Hayden Kerr 24/1, Mark Watt 32/1

Derbyshire won by five runs.

Warwickshire v/s Worcestershire

Worcestershire Rapids' woes no end as they were humbled by a whopping 144 runs by their arch-rivals Warwickshire. 

The Rapids' decision to field first seemed excellent as Mitchell Stanley scalped two quick wickets to reduce the Bears to 3/2. Adam Hose then arrived in the middle and made his intentions clear. Hose scored a stellar unbeaten century; plundering runs at the expense of the Rapids' ineffective bowling. 

Dam Housley played the perfect foil and scored 53 off 34 balls. Faced with an imposing target, Worcestershire crumbled under pressure. Danny Briggs returned with four wickets for Warwickshire to bundle out the bottom-placed Rapids for a paltry 84.

Brief Scores: 

Warwickshire: 228/8 in 20 overs 

Adam Hose 110*, Dan Mousley 53

Adam Finch 38/3

Worcestershire: 84/10 in 15.3 overs 

Colin Munro 34

Danny Briggs 25/4, Jacob Benedict Lintott 12/2

Warwickshire won by 144 runs.