• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Sri Lanka Announce 20 Member Squad For White Ball Series Against India
Debashis Sarangi ∙ Dec 28 2022, 5:12 PM | 2 Min Read

Sri Lanka announce 20-member squad for white-ball series against India

image-lc7l6a8yDilshan Madushanka has made his return [Source: Twitter]

In a significant development, Sri Lanka have announced a 20-member squad to face hosts India in the upcoming T20I and ODI series. 

Experienced all-rounder Dasun Shanaka is set to lead the team that is a mix of youth and experience. 

Meanwhile, famed spin bowling all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga has been chosen as the vice-captain for the very first time in T20Is. At the same time, opener Kusal Mendis will play Shanaka's deputy in ODIs. 

The batting will be shouldered by the likes of Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa. On the other hand, the top two run-getters in the Lanka Premier League, Avishka Fernando and Sadeera Samarawickrama, have made it into the squad. 

The squad sees the inclusion of the all-rounders Dhananjaya de Silva and Chamika Karunaratne, while Maheesh Theekshana will spearhead the spin unit alongside Hasaranga. Dilshan Madushanka, who was out of action due to injury, has been recalled. 

Meanwhile, Jeffrey Vandersay and Nuwanindu Fernando have been included only in the ODIs; Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Nuwan Thushara are set to play only in T20Is. 

Sri Lanka squad for India series

Dasun Shanaka (C), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis (VC in ODIs), Bhanuka Rajapaksa (Only for T20Is), Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga (VC in T20Is), Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay (Only ODIs), Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwanindu Fernando (Only ODIs), Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara (Only for T20Is)

Also Read: How are they going to stop Bazball: Darren Gough mocks Australia before Ashes