• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Rashid Khan To Lead As Afghanistan Unveils Strong Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Rashid Khan To Lead As Afghanistan Unveils Strong Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

Afghanistan announce T20 World Cup 2024 squad  [x.com]Afghanistan announce T20 World Cup 2024 squad  [x.com]

Afghanistan has announced a formidable 15-member team for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Under the leadership of star all-rounder Rashid Khan, the team is set to kick off its campaign on June 3 against Uganda at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The squad boasts a mix of seasoned campaigners and promising newcomers, prepared to face tough opponents in Group C, which includes cricketing powerhouses New Zealand and the West Indies.

The batting lineup features specialists like Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who is likely to open alongside Ibrahim Zadran. The middle order will be bolstered by Azmatullah Omarzai and Najibullah Zadran. Mohammad Ishaq, a skilled wicketkeeper-batter, also makes the squad, adding depth to the batting department.

In the bowling arena, Afghanistan presents a versatile attack. The pace department includes left-armers Fareed Ahmad and Fazalhaq Farooqi along with right-armer Naveen-ul-Haq.

The spin attack is particularly strong, with Rashid Khan leading a group that includes mystery spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman, left-arm wrist spinner Noor Ahmad, and the impressive young Nangyal Kharoti, who boasts an economy rate of just 5.90.

The all-rounders’ slot features experienced Mohammad Nabi, along with younger talents like Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, and Nangeyalia Kharote, each bringing a unique skill set to the squad.

While Hazratullah Zazai, a notable powerhouse hitter, did not make the primary list, he remains on standby as a reserve along with Sediqullah Atal and Saleem Safi.

Afghanistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2024

 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Azmatullah Omarzai, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Ishaq, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan (c), Nangyal Kharoti, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad Malik

Reserves: Sediq Atal, Hazratullah Zazai, Saleem Safi