Vaibhav Tripathi ∙ Aug 13 2022, 12:16 PM | 2 Min Read

Paarl Royals announce four player signings for CSA T20 League

image-l6rhvrskButtler is the key player for Royals

Rajasthan Royals-owned Paarl Royals franchise announced its first set of four -player signings for the upcoming CSA T20 League in South Africa on Friday (August 12).

Paarl Royals is the third cricket franchise from the Royals Sports Group, after Rajasthan Royals in the IPL and Barbados Royals in the CPL.

The Royals have roped in England white-ball skipper Jos Buttler, South Africa T20 specialist David Miller, West Indies pacer Obed McCoy and South African all-rounder Corbin Bosch for the inaugural season which is set to be played from January-February in 2023.  

Buttler, Miller, McCoy, Bosch to represent Paarl Royals

Out of the four signings, Buttler and McCoy played for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2022, whereas Miller was part of the title-winning Gujarat Titans team. Miller, however, played for Rajasthan Royals for two seasons. 

“This investment enables u s to further scout and develop world-class talent, grow our fanbase by bringing more fans into the Royals family and help extend the reach of the IPL too, in line with our core purpose of ‘Transforming Society through Sport, Transforming Sport through innovation," Rajasthan Royals said in a press release.

"The Paarl Royals will be based out of Paarl, a city in the Western Cape province of South Africa. Equipped with the best of operational and logistical facilities, the Boland Park Cricket Stadium in Paarl will be the team’s home ground during the tournament that is slated to kick off early next year,"  added the statement.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has allowed IPL franchises to carry a purse of USD 2 million to sign up players and finalise their squads at the tournament auction that will be held later this month.

ALSO READ: RPSG Durban announce the first five signings for CSA T20 League