• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Mumbai Indians Star Included As South Africa Reveal List Of Contracted Players For 2023 24

Mumbai Indians Star Included As South Africa Reveal List Of Contracted Players For 2023-24

image-lf3ncpenTristan Stubbs has given his maiden contract [Source: Twitter]

In a significant development, Cricket South Africa has announced the list of contracted players for the 2023-24 session. While five players, including Mumbai Indians' Tristan Stubbs, have earned their maiden central contract, veteran bowling all-rounder Wayne Parnell has been re-included in the list. 

Besides Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Bjorn Fortuin, Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton are the others to have been rewarded with their maiden contracts following their consistent performances, both in the international and domestic circuit. With these crucial additions, the number of contracted players has increased from 16 to 20. 

While Jansen has established himself as a vital cog in the Proteas Test setup, Stubbs has been impressive with the bat in white-ball cricket, particularly in T20Is. 

Similarly, left-arm spinner Bjorn Fortuin and promising seamer Sisanda Magala recently had an outstanding SA20 season, scalping 14 wickets each for their respective franchises. 

Speaking on the matter, CSA CEO Pholetsi Moseki stated: 

"We are really excited by the mix of experienced and younger players that have been contracted this season as we continue to build a world-class outfit under the leadership of red and white-ball head coaches Shukri Conrad and Rob Walter."

Meanwhile, South Africa's Director of Cricket Enoch Nkwe revealed that the board wanted a wider pool of white-ball specialists considering the upcoming ODI World Cup in India to be played later this year. 

"The number of contracted players has increased from 16 to 20 this season to ensure that we have a wider pool of white-ball specialists and Test players,

"We look forward to seeing them compete at the highest level in what is an important next 12 months for the limited-overs and Test sides, with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup taking place later this year as well as the start of the new World Test Championship cycle."

South Africa Men’s Contracted Squad

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen