• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Michael Rippon Gets A Maiden Call Up To New Zealands White Ball Squad

Michael Rippon gets a maiden call-up to New Zealand's white-ball squad

Former Dutch left-arm wrist-spinner Michael Rippon has earned a maiden call-up to the New Zealand white-ball squad for the upcoming limited-overs series in Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands in July and August.

Rippon, who has previously represented the Netherlands in 9 ODIs and 18 T20Is since making his international debut in July 2013, is the first left-arm wrist-spinner that has been picked for the senior New Zealand men's team.

He is a part of the touring party that will lock horns with Ireland in three T20Is, followed by a limited-overs series against Scotland and the Netherlands.

Speaking to the media following the announcement of the white-ball squad, chief selector Gavin Larsen claimed that Rippon had earned his call-up through consistent performances in domestic cricket.

He further added that Rippon's left-arm wrist spin would add another dimension to the Kiwi spin-attack, which is currently led by left-arm orthodox Mitchell Santner and right-arm leg-spinner Ish Sodhi.

"Michael Rippon thoroughly deserves his selection after consistent performances domestically for many seasons now. His left-arm wrist spin is a point of difference, and he also offers some punch down the order with the bat," said Larsen, as quoted by ESPNCricinfo.

"We've got plenty of spin options in the squads, and I'm sure both Michaels [Rippon and Bracewell] will relish the chance to rub shoulders with Mitch [Santner] and Ish [Sodhi] and learn off their experience," he added.

Following the culmination of the ongoing Test series in England, New Zealand will play six white-ball internationals (three ODIs + three T20Is) against Ireland, starting July 10. The Kiwis will then lock horns with Scotland in two T20Is and a one-off ODI before rounding off their Europe trip with a couple of T20Is against the Dutch in Amsterdam.

Tom Latham will lead the ODI squad, while Mitchell Santner will spearhead the T20I contingent.

New Zealand's ODI squad for Ireland:

Tom Latham (C & WK), Finn Allen, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young, Michael Bracewell, Dane Cleaver (WK), Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Adam Milne

Squad for Ireland T20Is & Netherlands, Scotland series:

Mitchell Santner (C), Martin Guptill, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver (WK), Michael Rippon, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.