MI Cape Town announce first five signings for CSA T20 League

In an interesting turn of events, the MI Cape Town franchise has announced their first five signings for the much-anticipated Cricket South Africa T20, starting January next year.

The franchise using its social media announced that the South Africa pacer Kagiso Rabada, teenage batting sensation Dewald Brevis, spin wizard Rashid Khan, hard-hitting batter Liam Livingstone and Sam Curran are the five players roped in by the MI Cape Town for the inaugural edition of Cricket South Africa’ T20 League.

Chairman Akash Ambani announced signings

“I'm excited as we begin our journey in building “MI Cape Town”. With our direct player signings, we have taken the first step towards building the MI philosophy, having a strong core around which the team will be planned," 

image-l6oum144Liam Livingstone / Source: Twitter

"I am glad to welcome Rashid, Kagiso, Liam, Sam, to the #OneFamily and happy to have Dewald continue with us on this new journey. We are certain that MI Cape Town, like the two other teams, will play the brand of cricket MI is synonymous with-playing fearless cricket, and the same will resonate with the passionate cricket fans of South Africa and across the world," 

Capetown's first five

All the five players have got a sumptuous reputation in the quickest format of the game. For the unversed, the young and uncapped South African star Dewald Brevis also plays for the Mumbai-based franchise in the Indian Premier League and he had a breakthrough season with Mumbai Indians in 2022.

Earlier, the owners of Mumbai Indians, Reliance Industries Limited (RIL) on Wednesday unveiled the name and brand identity of its franchises for the UAE's International League T20 and Cricket South Africa T20 League.

Also Read: Ross Taylor sparks Racism debate in New Zealand Cricket