• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Ire Vs Ind 2023 Paul Stirling To Continue Leading Ireland Fionn Hand Gareth Delany Recalled

IRE vs IND 2023 | Paul Stirling To Continue Leading Ireland; Fionn Hand, Gareth Delany Recalled

image-lkwli43gPaul Stirling has been named the captain of the Irish side vs India (Image - ICC)

Ireland on Friday named a 15-member squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India. Paul Stirling, who has taken over the Irish leadership duties since Andrew Balbirnie stepped down, will continue leading the pack.

Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Josh Little, Harry Tector, and Lorcan Tucker, who are all regulars, have all kept their positions, while Fionn Hand and Gareth Delany have been called back into action.

Hand, who made his debut last year in August, was out of the mix of things. Delany, on the other hand, will be returning from injury after breaking his wrist in Zimbabwe in June.

"The recent qualifying campaign in Scotland was the first stage of our strategic planning for next June’s T20 World Cup. We currently have around 15 T20 Internationals scheduled between now and the World Cup, so it is important that we use each of these to continue to build on areas that the coaching team have identified," Andrew White, Ireland Men’s national selector, said in a statement.

The three-match series between Ireland and India will begin on August 18 and will run till August 23. All three matches will be played at Malahide.

Ireland T20I squad vs India: Paul Stirling (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, Mark Adair, Ross Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Fionn Hand, Josh Little, Barry McCarthy, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Ben White, Craig Young.